A Tale of Two Pizzas Contest Week 5 Entry

As she neared the gates to the Oil Baron's town The Engineer slowed her horse back down to a trot. As she approached the gate two guards came out to meet her, holding one hand up in a stopping gesture the other on swords.

'Something isn't right here, this wasn't in the information that the Pizza Baron gave me. It's probably a good thing I got sent instead of that other guy.' She thought as she stopped her horse right in front of the guards.

"Sate your business here."

"I'm a wanderer. I left my old city to find a place with better weather and work. I heard about this place in my travels and I thought it would be a good place to put my skills to use."

"And what skills would that be?"

"Engineering mostly. I figure a place specializing in oil could use all the good engineers they can get."

She watched as they talked amongst themselves for a minute before they turned back towards her.

"Come with us, we're going to send someone to speak with the Baron. At this time all new immigration must go through him, we'll take you to a nearby inn to wait. What's your name?"

"Martha."

'An inn huh? Not only is that going to be the best place for me to try to learn some information while I wait, but it also means that the security change is probably pretty recent if they don't even have a guard station.' She thought to herself as she followed behind them.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency