The StoryTeller Who Wanted A Day Off

Everyone needs a day off from time to time. Even this storyteller.

"I don't have any stories in store. I don't want to tell any tales. It's my day off."

The audience appreciated this. It's a good opportunity to check out other stories from other writers.

That's unless you have a scary fan.

"I can't have a scary fan," I said to myself. "Because if I did, it would lead to a story that has already been told. Not fresh. Not original."

With that remark, the storyteller, i.e. me, has shut down any story possibility.

But it turns out that I do have an obsessive fan, who has other ideas.

"I don't care if the story is fresh or old. I just want to cause misery."

"Misery?" I said. "Why would anyone want to cause Misery?"

The phone rings.

"Hello, Stephen King here. I'm watching you."

"Look, Mr King," I replied. "With all due respect, I wanted a day off telling stories. I've got a crazed fan that wants my blood. In the midst of all that, you ring me to tell me that you are also watching me. Can't I have some peace?"

"Just make sure you are writing original material."

I agree. It would be better if I didn't have any fans. How about if the world forgot who I was? I know a doctor who is also a sorcerer. "Coincidentally," he is also called Stephen. How strange.

At that very moment, the doorbell rings.

"No, not happening. It's too dangerous."

I'm not going to get peace today and I don't think I'm going to get a day off

Maybe I'll write a story after all.

What shall I write about?

The phone rings.

px-downloadgedc542084cba977beb811cdc6d98b4b384aa81c9f6f9804eb826d00513d20203211be771532c4eebd025446393cdc9d6_1920.jpg
Pixabay

Freewrite prompt by @mariannewest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency