Empty Pail

Robot 1 and Robot 2 are watching TV.

"Today's story isn't going to be about us," said Robot 1. "I think our writer wants to write about something else."

"That means a holiday for us," said Robot 2.

Robot 2 paused for a minute and thought;

"If the story isn't going to be about us, what will it be about?"

Robot 1 enlightened our curious robot.

"I believe that the new story will be on the TV now. It will be interesting to see."

Robot 1 and Robot 2 sat down comfortably to watch the TV.

There is a knock at the door.

"I'll get it," said Robot 1

Robot 1 went to the door

"Hello, I'm Jack. I need some water. Please can you fill my bucket?"

"Look up there," said Robot 1. "Can you see that hill?"

"Yes," said Jack. "but there's no way I'm going up that hill to get water."

"Why not?" asked Robot 1.

"Because I'm about to wash your windows."

"I don't remember asking for my windows to be washed," said Robot 1.

"You have to admit that they're super dirty," said Jack.

"Yes, they are. Ok then. Please help yourself to water."

"Thank you," said Jack.

Robot 1 returned to the TV.

"Was that Jack?" asked Robot 2.

"Yes," replied Robot 1. "Do you know him?"

"Yes, he's starting a new window cleaning company. He wants to clean the windows."

"Well he's here now and he's cleaning the windows."

There is another knock at the door.

"Did Jack knock on the door or ring the bell?" asked Robot 1.

"Does that matter?" asked Robot 2.

"Yes, it does. Because if he rang the bell, we have a major plot hole."

"If you need to know that, then just go back a few paragraphs and check."

Robot 1 went to check the beginning of this story.

The door knocked again.

"Oh," said Robot 1. "I should answer the door first."

"I wonder if it's Jill," said Robot 2

"Who's Jill?"

"As in Jack and Jill."

"Yes, they make nice chips," said Robot 1.

Another knock at the door.

This time, Robot 1 goes to answer it.

"Jill?"

"No, Jack," said Jack. "I've finished your windows. Here's the bill."

"Where Jill?"

"I don't know anyone called Jill," said Jack. "here's the bill."

"You done a good job," said Robot 1.

"Thank you," said Jack. "Maybe I can clean your windows again."

It was a beautiful walk home for Jack.

"How did that go?"

"Great," said Jack. "It worked. I've managed to hack two robots and make them believe I cleaned their windows. I got paid, I got my bucket filled and I didn't have to walk up a hill."

"I bet they were asking where I was?"

"Yes," replied Jack. "I told them I didn't know you."

px-downloadgd907b01d5ff0e24306f9ab43bea4ef9c8378ccbece7bd5e78e1f19601919c4eefae3e80e0e483c02c03ff3a3504405b2_1280.jpg
Pixabay

Freewrite story prompt by @mariannewest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency