Mortis Custos Part 9

cover_lex.png
Hope all of you guys have had a great start to the week. This week I am wrapping up my survival book and looking for a new project. Either going to be a diet book or a book on diseases, unsure as of yet.
I have been invited to work on a series of books, so that is great. The problem is, I don't know when this will happen, so I just have to be patient.
Anyway, you guys aren't here to listen to me chat. Here is Part 9 of Mortis Custos!
mortis_custos_divider.png
Finally, the fury that had been bubbling inside of Mary broke free, and she roared at the cowardly priests, “GET OUT!”

She barely had to count to five as the idiots tripped over their clothing to escape her. Only one remained, a young boy, likely studying to enter the priesthood. He had a glint of bravery in him.

“Y-y-your Majesty.” He bowed and tried to back out of the room.

“No, you stay.” Said Adiran gently, “I need you. How old are you?”

“Twelve, My Lord.” Said the boy as he turned to the mage.

“Perfect. Come here. Lie next to the prince.”

The boy did so without hesitation. Adiran tapped the boy’s head and he instantly fell into a deep slumber. Adiran continued to mutter under his breath as the purple fire danced around but then halted as Rhyn climbed down through a window.

If Mary was shocked at the flightless dragon, she didn’t show it. She instead allowed herself to sit on the edge of the bed as the lizard crawled its way to Adiran.

“You called.”

“Can you watch over them?” asked Adiran.

The Saurian looked from one boy to the next. He knew both, had watched them both grow into young men, he didn’t like what Adiran had done.

“You are stealing one boy’s life for another.” He hissed.

“No, it will be returned, but for now he will keep Adrian alive long enough that I get his soul back.”

Mary grabbed Adiran’s hand and hissed, “What are you doing to my son?”
“Mary, Adrian’s soul has been taken by a Soul Knife. He is literally an empty vessel. He can heal from this wound given enough time and if the corruption can be kept at bay. But he will never be the same unless I get his soul back.” Adiran flicked his free wrist, and the fire disappeared.

“And this?” she glared at the scaled serpent, “What is it doing here? We haven’t had dragons…”

“Since the black dragon 400 years ago, blah, blah, blah.” Snapped Rhyn, “I am Rhyn, I am somewhat of a familiar to him.”

Rhyn rolled his head to Adiran. Adiran rolled his eyes and sighed heavily, “Rhyn is my friend, and you will need to protect him while I am gone.”

“Gone? Gone where? Jonathan is dead Adiran. His son is dying. I need you here.” She yelled.

“And I need your daughter to get Adrian’s soul back.” Adiran pulled his arm from her grip.

“Forget it!” She roared.

He moved away from the bed, trying to control his temper. He had seen the signs but thought he had more time. He turned to look at the two boys on the bed. Right now, they were sharing a life link, one which Rhyn could bolster if Adrian started to go backward. Everything had been for naught! All these years being Jonathan’s punching bag, and all he could do was watch another one disappear.

“Adiran?”

The fury in Mary’s voice finally broke, and he heard tears sneaking in. She had lost a husband and a son today. Could he truly burden her as to why this was happening? That it was happening once again. He took a deep breath and looked up at her before saying, “Mary, I have to tell you something.”
mortis_custos_divider.png
“Mortis then.” Said Magna with a sly grin.

“Excuse me?” answered the knight, speaking for the first time in a long time.
“Custos is a title, I assume, so I am going to call you Mortis.”

The knight tilted its head and this time instead of remaining silent started to chuckle. It was dry, like the wind through leaves, but it was a laugh. Magna relaxed a little. She didn’t know why, but Mortis seemed to bring a calm with them. Despite them towering over her father’s body, them was gentleness.

“Tell me of the king. Was he a good man?”

The question shocked Magna, and she struggled to find the right words, “He was a good king, treated people fair. Gave chances when they were deserved, no mercy when it was needed.”

“And to you? He was a poor father.”

The last part was a statement and not a question. It upset Magna, “I didn’t say that!”

“You didn’t need to.” The knight once more tilted their head.

For a time, there was silence, but then the room’s door opened. They were joined by Mary and Adiran, neither of which seemed shocked to see the two within. Magna noted that the knight immediately fell to its knees and whispered, “My Queen.”

Mary had heard of the mysterious knight and had thought them an outlander, but the bow seemed to change her mind.

“I hear I have you to thank for my son’s life.” She said softly, there were tears in her voice.

“I serve Drakenspoort’s blood while it still flows.” The knight looked up, “But you are not Drakenspoort, are you?”

Mary looked to Adiran, and the mage shook his head. He cleared his throat and said, “Do you mean the family of Drakens? If so, they died out centuries ago.”

“A whiff.” The knight raised a bloodied finger and pointed it to the corpse and then to Magna, “But it is there. As long as it is there, I will protect them.
It then pointed to Adiran, “And you.”

Adiran took a step back. Did this creature know? Surely it couldn’t, unless…
“You are not human, are you?”

“I am Mortis.” Magna could hear the humor in its voice, “The young one has gifted me this name. I am no longer a cause. Now, what do you want of me.”

Magna looked to her mother, longing to run to her and get a much-needed hug, but Mary only had eyes for the strange knight, which now climbed to its feet. Her mother looked to Adiran and seemed to have a question, but her uncle held a finger to his lips and inclined his head to her. They knew something they didn’t want to share with her.

“You don’t serve me,” started Mary. “But you serve him.”

She pointed to the corpse.

“I serve no one.” Said the knight, “I protect. I guard. I…”

“Will accompany my daughter to the Wastelands.” Commanded Mary.

There was stunned silence before the strange laugh echoed again. It built in strength until Magna had to cover her ears. The knight had its hands on its hips, roaring with laughter.

“You can’t command me.” It laughed.

“No, but I can.” Said Adiran as he started to mutter an incantation.
mortis_custos_divider.png

Here is an explanation of Chain Stories and here is the current Chainstory Library

The Reader List

If you would like to be tagged in every episode of Mortis Custos, leave us a comment and get added in, miss nothing!
Right now I will add people who have been keeping an eye on this series:
@weone, @merenludick, @clairemobey, @shopnilhasan, @therneau, @blitzzzz, @pravesho, @joetunex, @captainquack22, @irisworld, @braaiboy, @sketchygamerguy, @fuego-oscuro, @felt.buzz, @beeber, @brittandjosie, @tamacvet @thinkrdotexe (welcome new readers!)

Mortis Custos Parts

by @lex-zaiyaby @zakludick
Part 1Part 2
Part 3Part 4
Part 5Part 6
Part 7Part 8
Part 9 - You are Here!Part 10 Coming Soon
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency