Maledictus Terra Book 2: Sanguifex Part 24


Greetings Readers

I hope your week has ended on a relaxing note. I only just managed to finish this piece as it has been a very busy week!

Don't forget to read @zakludick's piece before reading this as you want to avoid any confusion!

Enjoy!

mortis_custos_divider.png
Mortis brought the skull-helmed warrior and Adrian to his chambers. Sebastian had taken to lounging on one of the stone coffins, despite bedding having been brought to him, throwing a small blade up and down. He was surprisingly nimble for his size, but Mortis supposed it helped that he had removed his armour and was dressed in comfortable leathers. When he noticed the trio enter the chamber, he sat up and grinned, “Trix!”

“Your Majesty.” The knight bowed.

“They were kind to you?”

“Yes, Lord.”

“Your guard has unique skills I haven’t seen before.” Said Mortis as he stepped into his chamber. “I didn’t know Lifedrinkers could melt into the shadows.”

“Trix is somewhat unique compared to the rest of us.”

The king hopped from the coffin and came to stand before the armoured warrior, “Did you send everyone else home with strict instructions?”

“I did.”

“I see you have met my nephew.”

“Very brave.”

“Not much for conversation, are you?” asked Adrian as he looked up at the warrior.

“Trix isn’t known for their conversation. It’s the way those weapons dance.” Said Sebastian as he carefully lifted the clawed gauntlets. “Almost took my head off with them.”

Mortis couldn’t help but hear the affection in the king’s voice. He genuinely liked his honour guard.

“I am surprised that you carry a blade and Trix carries gauntlets.” Said Adrian.

“That’s because Trix isn’t a Clarpratian. Likely why the curse is expressed differently.” Said, Sebastian.

“You are safe here.” Said Mortis as he removed his helm to show that he too was one of those cursed. “You may remove your armour if you so wish.”

“I do not.” The warrior melted into a puddle of shadow before darting deeper into the crypt.

“Trix!” called Sebastian after the shadow.

“What was that about?” asked Adrian, truly curious.

Sebastian sighed softly and said sadly, “Trix was the first to come to the kingdom after its fall. Something my father had arranged. I…I’m responsible for the curse within their spirit.”

“Tragic.” Said Mortis as he placed his helm within his stone coffin. “Adrian, report to the queen that we have returned. Inform her that the unturned are making their way to the farms, and some may come to the castle later. The turned have returned home. When done, have food brought for my guests.”

“While I don’t mind doing that Mortis, didn’t Mother expect a full report from you?”

“I have been out in the sun too much today. I need rest. The queen will respect that.”

“Very well.”

Adrian turned on his heels and made his way to the throne room.

“Why did you send him away?” asked Sebastian more harshly than he had intended.

“Trix is hungry. I sensed that when they appeared behind the boy in the courtyard. They barely beat back the instinct to feed. I’d prefer my blood not to be spilt today. Trix realises this, and now hides in the shadows as far from life as possible.”

Sebastian sighed heavily and moved to the back of the crypt to whisper into the shadows, “You haven’t eaten in weeks. You’ll lose yourself.”

Already lost.

“This can be reversed. My sister has a mage that knows how to find the true Lifedrinkers. We can beat this.”

Not soon enough.

“Give me time. I made you a promise and I intend to keep it.”

There was a hiss and a patch of darkness disappeared deeper into the crypt.
mortis_custos_divider.png
Adrian was shocked to see Millmor in the presence of his mother. He didn’t know much about the large man, but he did know that he wasn’t human and that he ruled the forest at night. A forest that his sister often vanished into to see Derric.

“Greetings Lord Millmor.” He said as he inclined his head.

“You are looking well, lad. How has your health been?” said Millmor in his human form.

“I’m doing a lot better. Between the healing tonics and my sister teaching me to fight, I grow stronger every day.”

“That is excellent news.”

“Especially with what has been decided between us two.” Said Mary as she ran her hand over her son’s head.

“You’re going to let Magna and Derric go on an adventure with Uncle, aren’t you?” Adrian couldn’t keep the disappointment out of his voice.

“That is part of the plan, but not all of it.” Said Millmor.

Realisation dawned on Adrian’s face, “I get to go too?”

Mary sighed heavily and said, “Yes, but I am not pleased about it. I would prefer to have at least one child remain with me, but I’m afraid it isn’t possible with what Adiran is planning. From what I understand of what he said, and it’s not much, the bracelets he is fashioning is to control two Lifedrinkers.”

Adrian realised that his mother was already well aware of the second Lifedrinker in the belly of the castle, “While I am not complaining, why can’t Derric wear a bracelet?”

“I’m afraid silver will prevent him from making use of any of his transformations.” Said Millmor.

“And what about Adiran?”

“Your uncle is already old, Adrian. I believe he needs someone with younger blood in their body.”

“Can’t believe I get to finally go on an adventure. Dad would finally be proud of me.”

As much as Mary wanted to argue, she knew it was true and it broke her heart. She hid her pain behind a smile and turned her son, so he would walk in the same direction as them.

“We have to inform Derric and Magna. You may as well come with.”

“Who else is coming with us? Derric, both uncles, Trix, Magna, Mortis, me, and?”

“So, the new one is called Trix.” Murmured the queen before she said a little louder, “Likely Mortis may decide to take one or two of his knights. I’ll speak to him later, though I am surprised to find you here and not him.”

“He’s guarding the second Lifedrinker. I was under the impression it was starving and he wanted to ensure it stayed within the crypt.”

Mary caught the attention of a guard and instructed him, “Have the kitchen take some meat to the crypts. Don’t enter it, leave it at the entrance and call for Mortis. And ensure the meat is…uncooked.”

The guard, looking a little confused, only nodded his head and left swiftly.
mortis_custos_divider.png

Here is an explanation of Chain Stories and here is the current Chainstory Library

Mortis Custos

Start

Sanguifex

by @zakludickby @lex-zaiya
Part 1Part 2
Part 3Part 4
Part 5Part 6
Part 7Part 8
Part 9Part 10
Part 11Part 12
Part 13Part 14
Part 15Part 16
Part 17Part 18
Part 19Part 20
Part 21Part 22
Part 23Part 24– You are Here
Part 25 – Coming SoonPart 26 – Coming Soon

The Reader List
If you would like to be tagged in every episode of Mortis Custos, leave us a comment and get added in, miss nothing!
The Watchlist:
@weone, @merenludick, @clairemobey, @therneau, @blitzzzz, @pravesho, @joetunex, @captainquack22, @irisworld, @braaiboy, @sketchygamerguy, @fuego-oscuro, @felt.buzz, @dibblers.dabs, @beeber, @brittandjosie, @tamacvet, @thinkrdotexe, @alonicus, @joetunex, @stdd, @uop, @luizeba, @cryptoniusrex, @agreste, @itzchemaya, @darthsauron, @seki1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency