SAM MORGUE SYNDROME % A Picture Worth A Thousand Words%

Do you believe in Ghosts?

If you asked me this question two years ago, my answer would probably be;

"Get away from me with your fantasies, you probably watch too many movies."

But after my experience, I can boldly say that ghosts are as real as the sun. And they actually live and walk among us.


Story of my life


My name is Sam Morgan. I am 53 years old, but if you look at me you might mistake me for a 16 year old teenager. Yeah nature cheated me in certain ways.

I am last child in a family of four. Sadly I am the only surviving member of my family.


My mother died immediately after giving birth to me. Through out her nine months of carrying me, she kept falling sick. I was blamed severely for her death.


My father died the next week of heart attack, he couldn't bear the pain of losing his precious wife. Of course I was blamed for his death.


First son died in a ghastly road accident. He was standing at a bus station waiting for my arrival, and a truck which lost it's brakes swept him off his feet and killed him instantly.
Truth is that he was never supposed to be at that bus station, if only I have listened to him and traveled during the day, rather I decided to travel by night. I was blamed for his death.


Second son died in a ghastly air accident. He was my favorite sibling. Always there for me at my beck and call. I wanted him to be there on my graduation from the university. I pleaded with him to take the first flight so as to meet up with the occasion. I looked out for him through out the occasion, but he was nowhere to be found. Only to get the sad news of his death later on. Everybody who heard about this blamed me for his death.


Our only daughter died of a gas explosion. I went to spend a certain Christmas at her house. That fateful day, I tried to surprise her with a special meal. I cooked her favorite meal, but then I forgot to turn off the gas after cooking. She decided to go to the kitchen to light A red candle, to make the celebration complete. Immediately she struck the match, there was an explosion. I rushed to the kitchen only to meet the pieces of my beloved sister scattered on the kitchen floor. Once again I was blamed for her death.


I came to a conclusion, I was cursed. Everybody avoided me. Nobody ever made the mistake of touching me, or saying a word to me. To avoid being infected with what they tagged "The Sam Morgue Syndrome"


It was horrible living this way. I tried to take my life, but I was a coward and could never get myself to go through with it. The world rejected me, so I sort refuge in a camp house owned by my grandfather. I spent most of my days there, sitting on the bare grass and listening to music from my laptop.


It was a sunny Sunday afternoon. I sat in my usual spot. Suddenly an old woman carrying a basket of fruits walked up to me and sat next to me.

I was a bit startled, then I turned to her and said;

"Good Afternoon Ma'am, I'm not trying to be rude but it is best you find another spot to sit."

"But i have no one else to share these lovely fruits with."

"Ma'am If you share these fruits with me, it might be the last fruit you ever share with anybody"


She laughed so deep


"Don't be scared child, if you are scared about the Sam Morgue syndrome, it won't have any effect on me."

"You actually know about me, yet you take the risk of associating with me."

"Don't be silly boy, I know all about you. I was there when you were born. And besides one doesn't die twice."


Now I was confused


"I don't know what you have been taking ma'am, but you really need to move on"


She gave me a smack at the back of my head


"Is that any way to talk to your grandma."


What the Hell!! My Grandma died many years before I was born. But then it all began to make Sense somehow. My siblings always told me that I am a reincarnation of our grandmum, because I looked a lot like her and sounded like her.


I can't tell if I was excited or scared to the bone marrow, but I know I was speechless and my body vibrated.


I could see a smile form at the corners of her cheek. I smiled back at her.

We sat there smiling at each other, minutes passed, hours passed and eventually I lost count of time.


BgxWBRxjvNho1d5owNvLc9kLkZETgqoQLu9zcBbNBbDDEp9W4DbuZJubKbJwe7fmESRhkRrL3SEf8BWNCdttyrZN8GQVVpgzDZEuYSQQHNX4HL97mWtrrrQncrpJL3ES9ssTYkX1bguyVbKuNg1hTrZ1oPYB3ECgt3dSjJt8Kek8Zux.jpeg
¡source


This is my entry for the #A PICTURE WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS. Click Here to join the fun.


Don't forget to join the #Freewritehouse for so much more fun.


    ***Storyteller👻***

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency