Do You Need To Read Your Own Pre-loaded Work?


[](


In a literary discussion in the WA group, a poet admitted that he was reading his poetry which was published in a national daily newspaper in Indonesia. A senior writer reminded me why to read one's own published works that have been accepted. It is better to read the rejected work to find out the flaws and correct the work again before sending it back to the mass media.

Immediately someone responded. I also think about it and look back on my habits. I am one of those who read my own published works, although not very often. Why?

Every time I produce a work in the form of short stories, poetry, articles, or novels, I consider it part of learning so I always try to produce works that are better than before. Not all work that I have written can I remember clearly, sometimes I forget a short story inspired by where, why, and how.

After rereading the work, it seemed like I was carried away in the past and I can recall the process of coming up with an idea. Oftentimes, in the process of getting back into the process of getting an idea, I get another idea that is bigger, fresher, and I think it's amazing.

Reading one's own work that has been published is also a reflection of yourself. We seem to see ourselves in the past. From wrong in our articles, we can do self-criticism to improve the quality of our articles.[]



[](

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency