gtg witness log

I need to come up with some excuse why I’m late with this update.
Ooops, I guess it’s too late for that now.
Hello, Hive!

Day of the Programmer

The Day of the Programmer is an international professional day that is celebrated on the 256th (hexadecimal 100th, or the 28th) day of each year

Happy programmer’s day to all the coders who contribute to the Hive ecosystem!

- Yet another, fancy, cyberpunk flavored, Hive logo reveal video

OpenHive-Network GitHub

For reasons mentioned in my previous updates, I’m increasing number of repositories push-mirrored to the OpenHive-Network

New mirrored repositories include:

Hivemind

Communities meta-issue

I’ve created one to organize work on new features:
https://gitlab.syncad.com/hive/hivemind/-/issues/167
Please tag it for any related planned work or work in progress.

Release candidate

It’s not up to me to decide whether or not such a version is ready, but the latest develop looks good to me. Well, I also thought so about the previous one (12efa972) but when I was doing tests, I identified slow update_posts_rshares. This has already been fixed for initial sync (where it’s roughly 10 times faster), but still might be slow for some environments in live sync (most likely related to PostgreSQL 12 quirks), and by slow here I mean 0.17s latency every 3 second block. So I guess: soon.

Alternative hivemind database dump

I’m serving a recent dump of 398397e2 if you are brave (or crazy) enough to try it. Full sync from scratch takes less than 3 days on my machine, but if you use my dump, you can have it up and running within a few hours.

Hive

cli_wallet

Not much to update on here this time, I just extended meta-issue by proposed enhancement to allow to send transactions non-blocking way

sql_serializer

Some more testing of the sql_serializer plugin, it’s being rapidly improved and optimized, which is great because it’s a vital component of Hivemind and a prerequisite for HAfAH.

Public Hive seed nodes

There has not been much response yet about the seed nodes, so just a reminder - I’m still waiting for witnesses to let me know about their public seed nodes, more info in my previous witness-update

Here’s a current list (with three more just added):

api.hive.blog:2001              # blocktrades
seed.openhive.network:2001      # gtg
seed.ecency.com:2001            # good-karma
rpc.ausbit.dev:2001             # ausbitbank
hive-seed.roelandp.nl:2001      # roelandp
hive-seed.arcange.eu:2001       # arcange
anyx.io:2001                    # anyx
hived.splinterlands.com:2001    # aggroed
node.mahdiyari.info:2001        # mahdiyari
hive-seed.lukestokes.info:2001  # lukestokes.mhth
api.deathwing.me:2001           # deathwing
seed.liondani.com:2016          # liondani
hiveseed-se.privex.io:2001      # privex
seed.mintrawa.com:2001          # mintrawa

Increasing block producing reliability

Please review your witness votes and check if those witnesses are active.
No, it’s not about being active on social media, it’s about actually producing blocks.
Being scheduled for production and failing to produce introduces delays that we want to minimize on Hive.
It isn't that bad, but we can do better, so we should.

Top 3 accounts that were witnesses at some point but then stopped producing blocks without disabling production:

@firepower - ranked 56, never upgraded to current Hard Fork, missed 1895 blocks.
@dbuzz - ranked 60, missing blocks for quite some time, missed 1519 blocks.
@nathanmars - ranked 70, never upgraded to current Hard Fork, missed 547 blocks.

Witnesses: please be aware, if you are no longer running a block producing node, you have to set your signing key to STM1111111111111111111111111111111114T1Anm

For example:

update_witness gtg "" "STM1111111111111111111111111111111114T1Anm" {"account_creation_fee": "3.000 HIVE","maximum_block_size": 65536,"hbd_interest_rate": 1000} true
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency