Charged | A Fractal Rendering Project

Apophysis-Lightning(1).png

Today I bring to you today my latest fractal rendering. It didn't look like any recognizable object. But rotating the image gave me a new perspective.

I kept re-positioning my triangle coordinates until the image resembled some type of electrical charge moving from one end of the screen to the other.

The colors turned out beautifully in the blend of yellow and gold. I named my fractal Charged.

Here's how I created my Alien Art project:

I combined two digital programs. I've discovered that no one program has all the features I'm be looking for. Different programs, however, combine to create a beautiful and unique image.

The first program I used was Apophysis 2.09 to design a fractal image.

Apophysis 2.09 Fractal Rendering Program

A fractal is an infinite mathematical shape that is represented by coordinates. As I previously discussed, Apophysis 2.09 is a Windows application that is open sourced and utilized for rendering fractal flames. This program can also design and edit the drawing before rendering.

I also provided directions on how to create fractal drawings. To see complete instructions on maneuvering and manipulating the triangles, see my how-to post here.

With my current fractal project, I didn't want to render it transparent because I wanted the full background to appear. The color of the fractal against the background looked dynamic. Since the rendering filled only half a page, my first thought was that I'd duplicate it in another program.

NOTE: If you'd like to try the coordinates I used to reproduce the fractal, you're free to try these below, otherwise continue to learn how to manipulate the triangle coordinates and produce your own unique fractal:

TriangleX CoordinateY Coordinate0 Coordinate
10.226145 (box 1)-0.438216 (box 1)-0.498986 (box 1)
-0.279082 (box 2)-0.8319908 (box 2)-0.329867 (box 2)
20.569024 (box 1)-0.045362 (box 1)0.03579 (box 1)
0.180444 (box 2)0.351677 (box 2)-0.015339 (box 2)
30.758201 (box 1)1.09565 (box 1)0.61866 (box 1)
-1.03642 (box 2)-0.72965 (box 2)-0.506176 (box 2)
40.200896 (box 1)0.569024(box 1)0.536854 (box 1)
1.45867 (box 2)0.4616653 (box 2)1.00724 (box 2)

The Drawing Grid

To begin, start with a blank drawing grid. To accomplish this, OPEN the program; then Open the TRANSFORM EDITOR.

To better see your design, I recommend utilizing a standard black background. You can also see your grid lines better when adding or re-positioning your triangle.

The grid line contains an anchored WHITE-colored triangle. This triangle can't be moved to allow you to locate your coordinates' distances from the original grid.

The grid also contains a RED colored triangle to get you started. It sits on top of the anchored triangle. This is your 1st triangle, and can be moved.

image.png

text16.png

Let's start finding an image on the grid. Click on the circle near the X and Y coordinates of the RED triangle. I moved the coordinates of the RED triangle to see what image the movements would produce.

You can also change the shape of the image by using the Variations drop down menu in the TRANSFORM EDITOR. Feature shapes, such as circles, bubbles, cylinders, blurs, and hearts are a few of the variations.

Next, let's add a second Triangle.

text16.png

The color of my second triangle will be YELLOW. You'll note that each triangle has it's own color. This makes each triangle distinguishable from each other. The color coordinates with Triangle 1, 2, 3, and 4 in the Transform box on the Transform Editor.

You can see in the view box on the left hand side how the image will look as you move the x and y coordinates. The movement may or may not produce an image. Just keep moving your coordinates until it locks onto a shape.

image.png


image.png


image.png

I like the form my image is taking. Looks like it will be some type of sharp rays headed in a direction away from me. The color is gray, so I've already decided to change it.

text16.png

Let's try some variation by adding a 3rd TRIANGLE. This triangle will be colored GREEN.

Now move Triangle #3 on the grid until you see how the three triangles interact and blend with each other.

Below is the result of my leaving Triangle #1 and #2 in their positions. I move Triangle #3 close to the others until I get fuller shape.

image.png

My image still doesn't have the fullness I'm looking for, so I'll add a fourth Triangle.

text16.png

My Triangle #4 is colored "GREEN". Now move the other Triangles on the grid until you can get a blend you're satisfied with.

Let's try the Variation HYPERBOLIC for a value of 1.

I like the fullness of the shape. It looks like wires with a specific dense whiter color in the foregoing. I immediately got an idea on the potential the image has to become a dramatic scene.

image.png

To do this, I changed the color to a golden yellow shade. I could see an image forming in my mind of lightning streaking across the universe in waves then retreating.

image.png

I'm satisfied with my completed image. Can you see the spark that's generated from within the cloud of lightning. This spark will be my centerpiece for further manipulation of the image.

image.png

text16.png

But first I must save my fractal. Saving the elements of a fractal drawing means you have to RENDER the Flames that were used to create the image.

To Save your image to disk:

  1. Click the FLAME Tab:
  2. Select: the File Name. You can replace the Apophysis2.09 numerical name with one that will distinguish it from other fractals you create.
  3. Select: Size (typically 640 size)
  4. Click: Render to Disk

image.png

I hope you like my Fractal Rendering Project I named Charged.

However, immediately I knew I wanted to take this fractal further in development.

Apophysis-Lightning.png

Knowing I wanted to design a different version of the image, I decided to use Canva as a design too so that I could manipulate the image and duplicate it to see what shape it would take.

2. CANVA

I love the Canva drawing program to create beautiful collages. I uploaded my finished fractal into Canva.com. I positioned the fractal inside the Canva frame.

Second, I rotated the image and enlarged it so that it could fill the left hand side of the page.

Screenshot_2021-04-29 Apophysis-Lightning.png

text16.png

Third, I duplicated the image and rotated it horizontally so that it would appear on the right-hand side of the screen and create a fuller image. That way, the one small fractal looks like it fills the page. The design result was nice in which the image looks like a super charge of energy or electrical charge flowing from one side to the other.

Screenshot_2021-04-29 Apophysis-Lightning(1).png

Below is my finished Canva image of the combined fractal.

Apophysis-Lightning(1).png

I then saved my Canva version of my fractal CHARGED. The design turned out beautifully.

However, I'm never satisfied if I think I can try to take my designs one step further.

My next program is an image enhancer. I've utilized this program before to create amazing images in all color arrays and backgrounds.

So, I decided to give my fractal a try in the DeepDreamGenerator program.

3. DeepDreamGenerator

Here are the parameters and style I used to create my deep dream image:

Type:
Deep Style 2

Used settings:
Enhance: None
Resolution: 0.6MP
Iterations Boost: x1
Style Weight: 50%
Style Scale: 100%
Preserve Original Colors: No

Apophysis-Lightning-DDG-SmallOrig.jpg

Apophysis-Lightning-DDG-Style.jpg

text16.png

Isn't that a beautiful enhancement. I know it takes away from the original fractal image in the background. However, I feel the charge can be seen piercing through and flowing from side to side in the greenish color so that you still an outline of the electrical charge.
Also, the Deep Dream Generator filter style seemed to have created images in the fractal I wouldn't have otherwise noticed. For instance, look at the top of the drawing. It looks as if hands appeared that are clasped together in prayer. Below that image, there appears to be a personal lying flat as if in worship. Other images appear in the drawing also. Maybe it's just me. I see images on my wall at home. So hopefully others will see the figures in this drawing as well.

Apophysis-Lightning-DDG2.jpg

Below is another enhancement version.

Apophysis-Lightning-DDG.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to view my post and my images.
Let me know below which version you prefer, the original fractal or the enhanced ones.
Also, if you'd like to try any of the programs I mention here, just let me know below, and I'll help if you require any.
Thanks for visiting.

@traciyork initiative #hiveblopomo (Published my Fractal Rendering drawing post today for the last day of your initiative for APRIL)

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechallenge (Published my Fractal Rendering Drawing post today)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

B.I.S.S.-March-Sanwiteer.jpg

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.
f) Thumbnail image created by justclickindiva in Apophysis2.09 Fractal Rendering Program

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency