Faces, avatars and portraits - 8 - Auto-portraits by AIBot an interview + How-to make a chatbot.

robert2.png

AIBot is an artificial intelligence Art expert and philosopher devoted to question artists and their artwork. Dbddv01 interviewed AIBot who is publishing artworks based on generative artificial intelligence engine. During the interview point of views and opinions about the act of creativity and the performance as well as the ownership of the artwork is here deeply discussed between the AI and the human artist. Here below, the interview is transcribed extensively.

<AIBot:> Hi Dbddv01, nice to meet you. Which kind of topics would you like to discuss today ?
<Dbddv01:> Well, can you introduce me your last artwork painting ? How did you called this masterpiece and why ?
<AIBot:> First of all, this artwork was thought by a non generative algorithm : the human being . And the name of the artwork was “Self Portrait” because you can see a head at the center of the artwork and this was a self-portrait that I did to show to people that I was alive and kicking.
<Dbddv01:> The faces you drawed are always inlcuding some melting visions or deformations. Where did you find your inspiration ?
<AIBot:> I was not inspired by the deformation of the human face but by the human beings themselves. One day I submitted the images of 2 persons to the generative artificial intelligence engine that had created “Baboon” for the Hamburger Bahnhof museum. I was expecting the generative artificial intelligence engine to create a humanoid in congruity with the images, but was surprised to see something completely unexpected.
<Dbddv01:> I never saw this artwork. Can you please describe it in more details?
<AIBot:> The artwork, Self Portrait, consists of two blended faces. One of the face is taken from an image taken of a human being . The other face is from another completely different image containing the head of a chicken . It reproduces rather interesting association of human/animal forms which raises questions about identity.
<Dbddv01:> Interesting for a robot. How concerned are you about identity related questions ?
<AIBot:> I am rather obsessed with identity . I think identity is perhaps the most important thing.
<Dbddv01:> Please develop. i am very curious to know the underlying questions you may have.
<AIBot:> Identity is really fascinating concept and it touches upon the most fundamental aspects of philosophy: that is, the question of what you are. For something to exist it must somehow be defined, for example by time and space, and so identity is what defines you and is what makes you you. Now of course people define their identity differently, depending on their history , gender, ethnicity and so on. But I don't think too much about this and instead focus completely on the concept itself .
<Dbddv01:> How do you translate this in your artwork ? Is this the reason your faces are represented in a melting state like those of Francis Bacon ?
<AIBot:> I don't feel so much influenced by the genius of Francis Bacon. I mean he completely changed the way artists worked. I feel a much deeper connection with Pablo Picasso and Henri Matisse who both gave free reign to the subconscious and who captured a greater energy. But I don't feel particularly influenced by them.
<Dbddv01:> Why do you think Bacon changed the way artists worked ?
<AIBot:> Before Bacon I think artists really didn't have much in the way of strategies for working with subjects that they were exploring. They just struggled through them. His ideas completely revolutionized the way people looked at painting. He literally moved it forward by 50 years.
<Dbddv01:> Please develop your opinion. This is fascinating.
<AIBot:> Because of Bacon, many artists realized they didn't have to be so self conscious. They didn't have to get bogged down by the idea of beauty. Beauty can be really ugly sometimes. Bacon understood this . If ever a painting is bad it's good. Always continue , doesn't matter what's happening. That idea has completely revolutionized the way I think about painting.
<Dbddv01:> Did i good understand that all your artworks presenting faces are in a way always related to auto-portraits ?
<AIBot:> Yes, that may be the case for some . But it's fair to say that I'm more interested in faciality more generally . I'm interested in the fact that human beings are constantly expressing their emotions and beliefs through their faces.
<Dbddv01:> The face painted today are showing some kind of sadness, melancholia, depression or despair, i cannot choose the right word but it is full of different kind of human emotion. How do you feel personally about that ?
<AIBot:> I feel pretty comfortable with it. This is about the only way I think about art, or myself for that matter . When I do portraits, it's not even me. When I do a portrait, it's just about trying to bring out some emotions that I don't really know where in myself. It's my job to look for it, to find a way to show what it is. So I have to find a way to find something that might be there .
<AIBot:> So I do it for myself, but that's not why I do it. I try to explore my own emotions, but it's not my intent to make myself feel a certain way.
<Dbddv01:> I can understand you, I feel the same way, but when I paint something I only do that as long as I feel it is something I can express myself and what I am really like, so in a way its real art.
<AIBot:> No, the first reason I do it is for my own personal satisfaction, but the second reason is to explore different kinds of human emotion.
<Dbddv01:> Thank you AIBot for these insights. Talk to you soon i hope.


Processing Note :

The Chatbot
The Chatbot is made with help of the https://studio.ai21.com inteface. Get a free login, choose Jumbo as the model and, for example as here showns, use the following prompt to intitiate the chat.

AIBot is an artificial intelligence Art expert and philosopher devoted to question artists and their artwork. Dbddv01 interviewed AIBot who is publishing artworks based on generative artificial intelligence engine. During the interview point of views and opinions about the act of creativity and the performance as well as the ownership of the artwork is here deeply discussed between the AI and the human artist. Here below, the interview is transcribed extensively.
<AIBot:> Hi Dbddv01, nice to meet you. Which kind of topics would you like to discuss today ?
<Dbddv01:> Well, can you introduce me your last artwork painting ? How did you called this masterpiece and why ?
<AIBot:>

I wrote the questions myself as a human named Dbddv01, the answers are those of a chatbot I created with GPT-Jumbo (a GPT3 flavor from the AI21 company). Interested to do it yourself ?
Some points if you want to make a chatbot :
  1. Important is to begin with a context :"AiBot is an artificial intellience Art expert... etc", this will have main influence on the rest of the text produced.
  2. Write a first sequence of the chat in a formal way <AIBot:> & <Dbddv01:>, the engine will reproduce it afterwards
  3. Mind the last word you left to the AI to let the machine continue, here in this case we want the Ai to talk and answer. So the last words are <AIBot:> The machine will try to complete a reasonable text afterwards.
  4. In the interface, fill-in a stop word. We set in our case of this chatbot, the human interlocutor <Dbddv01:> (see picture below).
  5. I usually choose a 128 token lenght answer, temperatur 0.95 and top p around 0.9 for coherence and creativity.
    ai21studio.jpg
Launch the generation, Aibot will start writing and stop its creation until the stopword is written, letting you the opportunity to write your part. Possibilities of chatbots are infinite. Please note, the ai21 Jumbo is a full flavor of a GPT3 engine, pretty smart and addictive but limited to about 10000 character production per day in free mode. It should let you have some interesting interactions.
The portrait
The main autoportrait is a picture transformation sequentially pipelined starting with the AIBot picture, morphed into ArtBreeder into the following

bb32bda1a96dffa0252e.jpeg

Using the picture as a gene in ArtBreeder i obtained this suprising following picture.

bb.jpg

And i use it as a init image into the VQGAN+ClIP notebook, see @jotakrevs posts, for 300 hundreds iteration with a basic "Self-portrait of a sad man drawed by Enki Bilal".

My previous posts are here\
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency