Art #14: Katsuki Bakugo (My Hero Academia)




Hello! It's been a week since I last posted here. Can't imagine days went by too fast but also felt that I had been away on Hive for a long time. Have you felt that way to before? Anyway, the character presented for the "Draw This in Your Style" challenge week 7 last week was Katsuki Bakugo from the anime My Hero Academia.

My Hero Academia is an anime I haven't seen but has been on my list for a long time already, and so obviously, Bakugo is another character I am not familiar with. However, since this is already the third time I am drawing a character from an anime I still haven't watched, I am somehow getting used to it.

So here is my own representation of Bakugo:




Katsuki Bakugo




bakugo5.jpg


I am not sure if I spelled his name right. The other participants for the art challenge spelled his name as "Bakugou", meanwhile, on my web searches it was spelled "Bakugo". I don't know which is correct.

Anyway, I was busy almost the entire week making another art that I didn't have the spare time to watch some clips of Bakugo. While thinking of how I would draw him, all I did was look on photos online where most of what appeared were fan service fanarts of Bakugo in casual outfits. This was what influenced me to come up with my drawing. I guess it's my fault not looking for a video of Bakugo to see what his personality is like though I felt relieved when someone mentioned that it what I did was a good contrast to Bakugo's usual personality.

So a while ago, before writing this post, I watched a clip of Bakugo and here are my first impressions about this character. A strong, competitive, and..somewhat a tsundere boy. He seems to be a softie but covers it up because he wanted to appear strong to everyone. (Tell me if I'm wrong.) His character design looks nice too. It makes me regret to have not watched this anime earlier, maybe I could've drawn him in his battle suit and not holding a lollipop!



bakugo6_1.jpg

If there's something good in this drawing, it's probably being able to draw a side profile of a character. It's something daunting for me so I rarely draw a character on this position even though I did a couple of similar drawings before for my favorite Japanese artists. I also get to practice to draw a hand which took me quite a while to get the shape I want. Well, just consider this a fan service Bakugo drawing!




Drawing Process




bakugo process.jpg

Overall, drawing Bakugo wasn't that too difficult too draw despite being challenged to draw the hand and side profile. To draw the character, I only used a thin pencil for the line art and watercolor brush for coloring. I recently fell in love with the watercolor brush because the color tends to get soft at the end of the stroke and can also blend colors although I still use the color mixing tool sometimes.

On the background, I placed a solid color blue then added gradient colors of yellow and orange on the top right. Then I overlayed a splash brush behind Bakugo so the space behind him doesn't look empty. And to complete my drawing, I added a silhouette. Guess I'm having fun adding silhouettes in my drawing!



bakugo1.gif

Is Bakugo your favorite character from My Hero Academia? Would you mind telling me something about him and why do you like this character?




Medium: Digital (Wacom Intuos Comic)
Program: Clip Studio Paint
Time: Approximately 4 Hours
Gif Made on Photoshop CS6






taky hive banner2.jpg




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency