RE: Hive Chess Tournaments Scoring & Reward System [eng/срп] Систем бодовања и награђивања на шаховским Хајв турнирима

Also I cannot believe that I would have ended up in third place in the CBL S1. Seems undeserved given all the strong players.

That is because my system is favoring those who regularly attending the tournaments. In my system you were third because you participated at all four tournaments, and that was the idea – everybody should have a motive to be involved in every round! I think your third place was more deserved than Spago’s (in the original tournament rankings) who showed up only once, despite his high ELO.

And therefore it is also kind of unfair that you presenting the ranking after 4 rounds as bad example, because this shows only half of the truth in my point distribution system. E.g. the payouts from S7 were like this:

I did not criticize your rewarding system, because it is in the spirit of community, and I like it. The problem is a motivation for the lower ranked players, and that is resolved in my system.

Your proposal is very interesting, but it introduces a randommness and makes comparisons from round to round more difficult.

Exactly! The point is that nobody is safe in their place if they do not participate at the next tournament! And there is a motivation for more people joining 😃

Thank you for your comment, @stayoutoftherz, and keep your fine tournament for many years ahead!

BTW, if you want to try the system, I can send you ready-made Excel file to adapt it to the needs of your tournament.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency