Gambit of Othello, the Moore of Venice!

Before we continue our story on chess set design, I have to tell you the tragedy of Othello, the Moore of Venice, General of the mighty chess army…



As you may think, the Moore had a bit of a sun tan, which made him a target of many Shakespearean racists. He was a brave warrior who served his masters so well that he deserved a position of the Governor of Cyprus and a beautiful white wife.

Well, one day he made a mistake and promote a wrong man. The real wrong man who wanted so badly to be promoted, thought of a devious revenge, and planted a poisonous seed of jealousy towards his beautiful Desdemona. So, how did their encounter went?

Black General Othello steps from the ship at the sea-port in Cyprus to the chess board, and his beautiful White wife comes out to him:

DESDEMONA: Welcome, my Lord… 1. e4

Othello meets her

OTHELLO: Am I really? 1… e5

DESDEMONA: Of course you are, my lord. Did you brought me something nice or did you slaughter and plunder foreign lands in vain? 2. Nf3

OTHELLO: I do have something for you indeed 2… Nc6

DESDEMONA: Let me see what you have for me. 3. Bc4

OTHELLO: I have a question, woman! 3… Nd4


SKG-2021-04-04_221954-hive.jpg

At this moment, you may already notice unpleasant tones of this meeting. You also may say: ‘Hey, this looks so much like Schilling-Kostić Gambit!’ Which proves you did read other literature as well. But let’s go back to see what has happened in the Othello’s marriage:

DESDEMONA: Oh, I see you brought me a juicy pawn! Thank you, my lord. Do you have anything else for me? 4. Nxe5

OTHELLO: Else? Where is a handkerchief I gave you the last time? 4… Qg5

DESDEMONA: Thank you, my lord, thank you! And thank you for the beautiful Rook! That handkerchief I’ve lost 5. Nxf7

OTHELLO: You’ve lost my mother’s handkerchief?! Liar! You gave it to a pawn called Cassio! 5… Qxg2

DESDEMONA: No, by my life and soul! (Retreats in fear) 6. Rf1

OTHELLO: Liar! Tell me the truth or I’ll smother you! 6… Qxe4+

DESDEMONA: No, lord, please have mercy on me! (A feeble attempt to protect herself) 7. Be2


SKG-2021-04-05_011813-hive.jpg

Alas, Othello already maketh the decision…

OTHELLO: Down, strumpet!! 7… Nf3#

A tragic ending indeed. There are rumors that Othello later committed a suicide, something like Jeffrey Epstein, but we also have heard that he actually run away far from Venice and Cyprus, to Ireland, and that he is hiding under the name O’Thello.

But there is one even more tragic thing: If you follow his trail you will never forget it, and you will never lose a chess game against @lighteye in this spectacular way.

Oh, nevermind. I was going to open with d4 anyway…




* * *

Related texts / Повезани текстови:

Chess Set design: Lardy Set (Part IV) [eng/срп] Дизајн шаховских фигура: Лардијева гарнитура (део четврти)

Chess Set design: Staunton standard variations (Part III) [eng/срп] Дизајн шаховских фигура: Варијације Стаунтон стандарда (део трећи)

Chess Set design: Staunton Standard (Part II) [eng/срп] Дизајн шаховских фигура: Стаунтон стандард (део други)

Chess Set design: Medieval Age (Part I) [eng/срп] Дизајн шаховских фигура: Средњи век (део први)



HIVE blog20200320_205320.jpg

hive.blog.lighteye_cr.jpg


Universal Basic Income


Google detox starts here!

PocketNet


Check out ABRA and easily invest in 28 cryptocurrencies or BIT10, an index of the top cryptos. Use this link to sign up and get $25 in free bitcoin after your first Bank/Amex deposit, or 1.5% cash back when you exchange cryptos

: 1GZQG69sEKiMXKgGw9TcGcUCBoC4sC1ZYp

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency