RE: Hivechess season 8 final result: @sawko wins his 4th title

Wow, you are a critical person. That's a good thing.

On the topic, if true, it doesn't sound new to me, it sounds like typical politics to me. Even having a senate as a political institution is no guarantee that citizens are "represented", as if they have a real voice. Opting for "participatory democracy", which is the alternative, usually leads to other kinds of vices. Nor does it work well in the long run (look at my country, for example). Besides, people will accuse you of populism and communism if you try it.

Personally, after reading Arrow's paper about how the democratic voting system is mathematically flawed to consequently express people's preferences when you have more than two choices/candidates, I too lost my expectations about the power of democracy (LOL), but as a society we need political institutions to operate, don't we? (unless you argue from anarchism). Democracy is also preferable to dictatorship.

This also reminds me of the question of free will from the point of view of physics and philosophy. Our universe is deterministic, so why do we bother arguing about free will? Aren't our decisions already intrinsically determined? Well, we also need to pretend that free will exists for practical purposes. If you rob someone, you can't blame the laws of physics. You have to pay for it somehow. Maybe in jail where you can graduate to a criminal degree (irony intended) or maybe by working for the victim's family, as dictated by some sort of "primitive" legislation of some aboriginal peoples I heard about, which in my opinion is superior to Napoleonic Roman law in that regard.

Maybe I should have written all this in a post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency