Art Attack! #73: A Wholesome Among Us Comic! (Part 1)

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So last week I shared an art piece that I did for my brother's birthday in December! I remember that was a busy time for me art-wise because there were so many presents to get and when it comes to presents my first thought is to do some art! It's personal, unique and comes from the heart. Although not practical, I like to think that the person I'm drawing for will enjoy it nonetheless.

image.png

Anyway, one of my friends, Teddy, had a birthday coming up not long later as well, so I set to work drawing something for him! He's one of my close gaming bros and we had a lot of fun in Stardew Valley coop and Among Us together during quarantine. So I thought I'd draw something related to that for him.

I was initially thinking of something Stardew Valley-related, since that's what I did for one of our mutual friends, Dean, but then I came across this Peanuts comic strip:

image.png

Source: reddit

It reminded me of the lights going out in Among Us and gave me the perfect idea for an Among Us comic! So I got to work on a sketch first. I decided on The Skeld map since that was probably the most recognisable map in Among Us, and also the one I remember best.

image.png

But I think you can see where I'm going with this sketch right. Red would be creeping along behind Teddy and you'd think he was the imposter trying to kill him but he's just keeping an eye on him while the rest of the crewmates prepare a surprise for him in the cafeteria! Yay! 🎉

I was initially only planning on having 4 panels, but thought it'd make more sense with 5, as ytou can see. And thankfully, the app that I was using at the time - Clip Studio Paint, had a template for comics!

image.png

The panels themselves were pretty small though, so I had to make some adjustments, namely making the dimensions of the panels and making sure they were in line with each other. For some reason the template had the panels not aligned, which was really triggering.

But anyway, after all that preparation, I went ahead and started on the first panel! Background first of course. And this was the cafeteria so:

image.png

I referenced some in-game screenshots and the Among Us fandom wiki to get the colours and the details right, but obviously the perspective had to be different compared to the game.

image.png

I needed it to be more zoomed in so we could see the panels and tasks on the wall since I wanted to draw Teddy doing the file transfer.

image.png

I was actually quite pleased with how well I copied the background. It looked pretty spot-on compared to the in-game graphics.

So next was drawing the characters! For this I traced an outline of the crewmate, but I changed the position of Teddy a little bit and gave him arms so you could tell he was doing the file upload. He also has a pet/child that he brings with him in the game, so I drew him too. And since the lights were going out, I thought it'd make sense to draw in the lights turning off effect that they have in-game. And it actually turned out pretty good I think!

image.png

The only thing I wasn't really happy with was the table. I couldn't draw the curves nicely but after many tries I just gave up and stuck with that. So that's one panel done!

image.png

The second panel was going to be Teddy running through Storage to Electrical to fix the lights, so I got to work on the storage background. Referencing in-game screenshots once again, I figured the hallway of storage would be the easiest to draw.

image.png

Source: Exportinfo

I tried my best to replicate it, and dang there were so many little details like the lines on the floor and the pipe along the wall!

image.png

At least the floor of storage was easy to draw so:

image.png

Then it was time for the characters! So for this I traced an outline of the crewmate and the pet running.

image.png

Then it was time to colour! I also put in a box from storage since I wanted Red to be creeping behind Teddy. And I also added a flamingo hat on Teddy because of an inside joke we have from Stardew Valley. And it's also the hat he always picks in Among Us becuase of that.

image.png

Adding the flamingo hat and light effect in the second panel, and that's the second panel done!

image.png

Here it is zoomed in:

image.png

Next it was time to head to electrical! As a reference, here's what Electrical looks like in-game:

image.png

Source: Among Us Wiki

image.png

I was thinking if I needed to change the perspective on this, but figured I'd just leave it since it would be too difficult to do so, especially with all the details in this one.

Unfortunately I got so caught up in drawing this one I forgot to save more progress pics, but I did the outline, of the cabinet and the curb first, before colouring in the floor, and drawing the wires. But many, many layers later, we get this!

image.png

Of course the cabinet looks a lot smaller than in the game because of the dimensions of the panel. And I was just going to inset the characters here, but then I figured I should probably draw the electrical cabinet being opened instead, since the task is for him to fix it.

Since I had to draw the inside of the electrical box, I referenced the task itself for what it looks like:

image.png

Source: Alphr

So I drew the cabinet opened first, with the metal plate inside.

image.png

And after some colour changes and fine details, we get this:

image.png

Here's a zoomed in version:

image.png

As you can sorta see, I actually tried my best to replicate the panel exactly like how it is in the game. And it actually did look really accurate!

But unfortunately some of the panel was going to get covered up by Teddy fixing the lights.. oh well.

image.png

And after adding in the final details like his pet and flamingo hat of course:

image.png

That's panel 3 done!

image.png

Another reason why the flamingo hat is so good is because I can give it an expression since it has a face! So I can make him look like he's sus of Red. But more on that next time.

I think that's gonna be it for today! This electrical panel took quite a long time because of all the fine details. But the other 2 panels, especially the last one, took me the longest amount of time just because of how much details there are. Tune in next week to see the conclusion of this very special piece, which is easily the biggest digital art project I've ever done (or visit my instagram and reddit to spoil it for yourself if you want I guess)!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
Art Attack! #72: Swinging through Nostalgia 🤸

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency