Cold Burning - Original Acrylics Artwork

img_0.4301988266513119.jpg

Last month I incorporated acrylic fluorescent colors into my practice and loved the effect. This I decided to create a new series of artworks, that will have as main goal to illustrate the invisible symptoms of chronic illness, recreating that organic feeling of the human body. I wanted to create something that will make the viewer see a bit deeper than the surface. My idea was to put more emphasis on what is not usually seen with the naked eye.

Years back I came across an image of the bacteria Borrelia Burgdorferi (the main culprit for Lyme disease) seen at the microscope on a dark field and I was amazed. That image haunted me for a long time because I couldn't stop thinking how something that small and beautiful (yes, it did look beautiful under the fluorescent lights of the microscope!) could be so harmful!

That image was my inspiration for my new series of artworks . I gotta confess that I am really happy with the results. I love how the canvas looks in one way in regular light, and how it changes into UV black light.

Below you have an image of the canvas in plain daylight. A normal semi-abstract canvas, nothing special, right?

img_0.8198701980934615.jpg

Though when you turn on the black light, you see the colors coming alive. It really pops! Have another look at the first image of this post to notice the difference!

img_0.8898790011835997.jpg

To give you an idea of the size of the canvas, I have added it into a fictional room view.

img_0.07989955957009905.jpg

"Cold Burning" is 36" x 36" acrylic on canvas.

Drop me a line in the comments below if you like it or not!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency