My watercolor painting: "Table set" in the forest

The "set table", of course, is not for us humans, but for the many organisms that feed on decay and mushrooms. Mixed colors darken in both cold and warm ranges. The color of the big fungus is very special, red, bluish black and whitish at the edges, as if moldy. It’s like an irregularly shaped plate with a little "salad" on it.

The "dessert" is made of some pink bell-shaped mushrooms on moss, with leaf-salad.
The "dining room" is an autumn forest with oak and sumac.

20210922_184604.jpg

Well, I needed a half day to paint it with all the details. Details are more important then I recently thought. Tiny lights, contrasts and edges the most! I designed the picture myself, not copied it from a photo. Photos can be at most a starting point and help you keep track of details.

Here are the steps, all closer to the end.

20210922_143714.jpg

20210922_144849.jpg

20210922_150425.jpg

20210922_175656.jpg

What was the biggest challenge? Spatial representation of the large fungus, and this was only complicated by red, black, and whitish spots. The inside is like a black hole that sucked everything in. I feel like this won’t be my last attempt at a funnel shape like this.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency