The Love of Art - Sculpture

Passing through the OnChainArt Community and seeing all the beautiful art works by wonderfully talented artists; I decided to share some of my husband Peter's sculptures with you.
Peter has been a Sculptor Artist most of his life, he was inspired by a junior school Art Teacher who encouraged him to pursue his talent as an artist.
Loving Art myself and doing a bit of acrylic painting and seeing all these wonderful artist here, I must say, you all have inspired me tremendously.
I'm trying to encourage Peter to join Hive, but he says he will leave that up to me. So! here we go, let me show you some of his beautiful work.

brown torso.jpg

Female Torso made from Kiaat wood

log.jpg

Peter would start with a log of wood and look at it for hours, turning it around and feeling it.

artist and log.jpg
He says the grain in the wood tells him what form to make, producing the art piece in the end, this is a piece of sneeze wood he was working on here.

yellow torso.jpg

"The Dancer"

The end result born out of the sneeze wood log.

big torso.jpg

Torso

This piece is made out of Kiaat wood, also known as African Teak and is very expensive to obtain, as the trees are protected in South Africa, it's a very hard wood with loads of character making it most enjoyable to work with.

guitar.jpg

The Guitar is made of different woods, the torso is made of stink wood, the neck of the guitar is made of imbuia wood and the head is made of imbuia and sneeze wood.

peasant lady.jpg

Pheasant Lady

This piece is made of Kiaat wood, my favorite piece, I love the warmth and the beauty of this wood, it has an amazing grain and feel to it.

family.jpg

The Family

This piece, or pieces are made from Tamboti wood, also a beautiful African hard wood.

wave.jpg

This piece is called "Lift Off"

Made from the beautiful Kiaat wood. I don't know why he called it "Lift Off" Lol! I love the grain in this wood, most of these pieces are on display at galleries in Durban South Africa.

bronze.jpg

Manhattan

This piece he did a couple of years ago, is done in bronze. He has done quite a few bronzes over the years. These are just a few of his sculptures I have shared with you, hope you enjoyed it.
Peter also paints in oils and water colors, will share some of those next time, and maybe a few of my own art, Lol! I paint in acrylics, I'm not as talented as my husband I just paint for fun.
Thank you for giving me the opportunity to share Peter's art with you, I am enjoying your community very much, there's nothing like sharing one's creativity with other talented people.
Have a beautiful creative day.

emoji.jpg

Hive animated divider 1.gif

HIVE SILVER BLOGGERS SUBSCRIPTION LINK:

If you're between the ages of 40 and 100 and have a passion for blogging and cryptocurrency plus have some wisdom to share, please stop by and subscribe to the new exciting Hive Silver Bloggers Community that is already attracting some of the best talent here on Hive.

Hive animated divider 1.gif

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos property of @artywink
Original content by @artywink

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency