Wednesday Walk and Talk

img_20210804_105517.jpg

Today I had to take my second antivirus jab and that meant that I had to venture out of home. I spent a couple of hours on the road driving two and fro, but this isn't about that I went to the hospital where my son works and studies to take the jab. No waiting, no ques, parents of doctors have the first preference since could be in the high exposure category for the virus. It was done in twelve minutes including the wait after the jab.

img_20210804_104659.jpg

We walked around the campus for a bit, enjoy the lawns and the frangipanis all around. This institute happens to be my Alma-mater so it was like reloading my brain with some precious memories as we walked along. This place is full of trees and the bird songs here were amazing. Parakeets and sunbirds could be heard but not seen.

My older son is talks to me all the time, we haven't seen him in four weeks now as he hasn't had a day off since he left home last month. He had a lot of stories to tell about his patients and staff at the hospital. He took us to his room and he just wouldn't stop talking and as usual, my husband went to sleep in the middle of this conversation. Most of this jabber was with me anyways.

img_20210804_195039.jpg

One story he told me made me laugh so much. One of his patients a boy of 19 who fell off a tree injuring his spine and couldn't walk was operated on by son earlier. This boy had described my son to his father as someone who doesn't walk but runs, someone who is here now and vanishes the next minute, who is so caught up in his work that he would never see anyone until you stop him to address him. The boy was back in the hospital and asked his father to find this doctor (as he didn't know my son's name) for him. My son is currently posted at the ER of neurosurgery. This boy's father was around the ER area and just from the description his son gave him he was able to identify my son. I laughed so much when I heard that story, because that is how my son is. Running across this huge campus seems to be his hallmark.

He also told me about his mad dash to the ICU without noticing the "caution Wet cleaning being done " board and how he went flying across the corridor. His patients and other janitor staff came running to pick him off the floor. His patient's relative straightened out his folded leg. That made me laugh out so long and hard I had tears in my eyes.

img_20210803_163859.jpg

He them played some amazing music for me on his keyboard and the three of us sang a couple of songs together. He made up for every moment we lost in the last four weeks. He had to get back to the hospital as the calls from the ER were coming in fast and thick.

We then drove to see our younger son who is another 15 minute drive away. He had just finished classes for the day. We went for a stroll together around the campus as I love the greenery around. Besides there are all kinds of insects crawling around here.

img_20210804_wa0019.jpg

Here were these humongous centipedes in action. These were busy doing their own thing. I was hoping to see them separate and craw on their own, we waited for a few minutes but no luck. we went ahead for a long walk and when we returned 45 minutes later they were still in the same position making love. LOL these guys do have some tenacity.

img_20210804_143238.jpg

We walked towards the deer enclosure. I was hoping to get some great pictures, so I gathered a few handfuls of fresh lush green grass. To my disappointment the caretaker had just come with a huge wheelbarrow load of water melon. The deer turned their back on me and went after the watermelon. Who would want to eat grass LOL when you have sweet water melon on your plate? It was like they were saying stuff it down your throat or whatever.

img_20210804_143338.jpg

Just next to the deer enclosure was this huge bougainvillea bush in full bloom, it looked so pretty that I had to show it to you. Sadly the enclosure fence obstructs the beauty a bit, but you can still enjoy it.

img_20210804_143410.jpg

These pink flower vines were all over the place. They had this mild but enchanting scent about them. The flowers looked so stunning even as they were wilting in the hot afternoon sun.
img_20210804_143553.jpg

As we walked around Mark my younger son kept telling me story after story. He has had to share his room with another young man for a few months. This guy is from the Northeast part of our country. My son had us laughing with descriptions of this guys routine. Right now they have been having internal tests and viva and this is what adds up as a qualifier for taking the 1st year exams at the end of this year.

img_20210804_194901.jpg

This young man has been getting drunk, eating and sleeping all the time. So when he went for his viva he could not answer any of the questions put to him by the professor. The young man kept telling him that he didn't know the answer, by the time they came to the 6th question the young man told him, "Sir why waste your time on me, if I didn't know the first five be assured that I won't know the rest." The professor just burst out laughing even though he was angry as he told him, "Young man, if you don't bother to know these don't bother to stay on here and waster your father's hard earned money. Besides this isn't just about you this is about the lives of the future patients who will be under your care". Funny as it was it was a serious warning to the young man.

img_20210804_194941.jpg

I had two intentions when I went to meet my son one was obviously to spend time with him and the next was to take pictures of birds and insects on the campus. I was so excited to see him that I forgot to take my camera from the car. That was uncharacteristic of me since I am a shutter bug and I am always click happy. I had to make do with my phone.

In our excitement to see our younger son I realized that I had also left my purse with the house keys behind in our older son's room. This mean that we drive all the way back once again spend a few more minutes (double joy) with him before we drove back home.

It was such a delightful day, I was so happy to see my sons after a gap of four weeks. There were smiles plastered on our faces as we drove home. Hubs and I were repeating the funny things the boys had to say and laughed all the way back home. Amazingly the drive back wasn't as bad as we expected, perhaps we were to happy to notice any traffic snarls that we usually face.

All imges used here are the sole property of @sofs-su

Thanks for taking the time to read.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency