My Wednesday Walk That Never Happened

img_20210721_215234.jpg

Bright orange Hibiscus

I was looking forward to getting out of home for a short walk as it was sunny today. It's been raining non stop for the last ten days or so and it was impossible to step outside our home. Seeing the sun and the weather forecast for the day I phoned my friend and asked her if we could go out for a walk togetherto which she readily agreed. As I got ready at 4pm and waited for my friend to show up I noticed that the sky suddenly became dark and just as my friend came in the heavens opened up, it was as if there was a hole in the sky and it poured by the bucketfuls.

img_20210721_215644.jpg

That was the end of our much anticipated walk. We decided to make the best of our time and catch up on what the other has been doing while having some steaming coffee my husband made for us and some cup cakes I had made earlier in the day. The rain let up a bit after a while so we went up to my garden. The golden trumpet bonsai flowers looked rather beat up in the rain.

img_20210721_215734.jpg

The continuous rain has made a jungle out of my urban terrace garden. There are weeds everywhere. However, my friend seemed so fascinated by my miniature garden in the making. The few dozen succulents I have potted in tiny pots got her really excited.

![img_20210721_215842.jpg](
![img_20210721_215958.jpg](
.


These little beauties are doing pretty well even in this incessant rain. However, I need to get them to a drier place before the weather gets to them.

img_20210721_220154.jpg

The gladiolus are in bloom all around. I love this color more than the others. I need to ensure that I get more of these bulbs for the next season. There was a request for these bulbs put in by my friend as well.

img_20210721_220301.jpg

My baby hydrangeas which I grew from cuttings 45 days ago are in bloom now. I was happy to give away a couple of them to my friend.

img_20210721_220107.jpg

The succulents (burrows tail) seems to be thriving here in my balcony, We took a few cuttings from this one also for my friend.

img_20210721_220339.jpg

My bonsai - sacred ficus looks pretty in her new leaves. They shimmer like copper in the sun and the even smaller leaves look like burnished bronze. However, in 3-7 days they would all turn green and look rather normal.

My friends was quite happy with the garden tour. She picked up a few other plants before she left.

So our walk in the garden changed our usual talk about home and work into a garden only talk.

Hope you enjoyed my little garden tour as well.

All images used here are the sole property of @sofs-su

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency