Early morning trip from Ekpoma to Onitsha - Just the good side of the story!

In this post, l will be giving you a good blend of my travel experience in addition to other stuff that came with it. The most thrilling part of this is that it happened in Edo State, a place where l would need a compass to find my way around the city.

Well, l had a human compass in the person of ' that special lady' haha.

I just went there over the weekend on a 2 days vacation and l had a mouthful of experience. Some were good, others made me think twice about my stay in this Nigeria. Like, who dares to say that all Bitcoin traders are fraudsters? I will tell you 'who'. It was said by a ludicrous uniformed gangster that calls himself a policeman. An ignorant and fraudulent one for that matter. For the record, by Bitcoin, he was referring to all Crypto related projects.

Trust me, l will write a whole post about the sad part of my experience with this " nigga(s)" but I won't be doing that today. Let's focus on the other side of the story, eh?

Ahaaaaa. Welcome to my 3rd or 4th post in this Community.

The vacation l took to Ekpoma was a very good one and l would have loved to spend more time there, but everything that has a beginning would always have an end. The same goes for travel and vacation. I ended mine on Monday morning and l woke very early to get dressed and hit the road.

IMG_20210728_122103_321~2.jpg
I walked from Hotel de Torino to the spot where l entered a motorcycle. Everyone calls it bike over there.

Bikes are the major means of transportation within the streets of Ekpoma. I would have counted myself lucky if a bike dropped someone in front of the hotel when l was about to make my exit. That would have saved me from dragging my feet on the sandy path that connects the hotel to their major road. But l couldn't find any bike at the hotel gate so, l decided to do a little leg-walk.

IMG_20210725_085741_073.jpg

It was just a 3-minute walk to the major street where I entered the first bike.

IMG_20210726_073524_776.jpg

I wasn't conversational with this bike man. I just made an enquiry about the fee after which l balanced at the passenger 's seat with my phone in my hand, a backpack and my earpiece well fixed on my ears.

Did you notice the thick gloves on his hands? The weather was cold but it wasn't cold enough for anyone to wear that. Perhaps, that could be for fancy (or not).

We rode for more than 10 minutes before getting to a more populated part of the town.

IMG_20210726_074343_226.jpg

As expected, my bikeman reduced his speed to avoid 'stories that touch the heart'. After riding for another 5 minutes, l dropped at Joffel, a popular shopping mall in Ekpoma where l planned to buy hot bread for my family. Turns out that 7am was too early.

No bread, no problem! My journey continues!

I entered another bike. This time around, a conversationist was in charge of the bike's handlebar. I can still recall the chit-chat we had in our usual Nigerian style, the 'Pidgin English'.

IMG_20210726_074802_516.jpg

We rode for 10 minutes from the marketplace to a motor park where l boarded a bus to Onitsha, Anambra State.

IMG_20210726_075522_042.jpg

It's a 9 seaters Sienna and l paid #2500 (+/- $5) for a ticket.

HiveDivider_sm.png

Remember what l said initially? This vacation was a good way but l had multiple experiences with our uniformed men on my way back which made me think twice about my stay in this country. I'm yet to write out my heart about that experience but l will be doing that on a

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency