Replanting Moringa Branch and Finding Soursop Flowers

On Sunday night, it was raining hard, it felt like there was a storm and there was even blackout in our area. The blackout lasted for three hours and I had to stay awake to fan my baby, my husband slept earlier than us after logging out of work due to the power outage.

By Monday morning, my husband was energized and said he will be planting the moringa barks which were cut a few days ago. Our five moringa trees had grown tall and we can't anymore reach the leaves. We always have vegetable soup every noontime and we source the moringa from our own backyard together with local spinach.

20210913_081333.jpg

There were around seven barks and branches to be planted. The workers who cut them just placed them next to our chicken coop. As you can see, these are already thick which means the tree is an old one.

Cutting the bark and the branches will allow the tree to grow more leaves too!

20210913_081614.jpg

I took some photos of the moringa leaves. We locally call this "Kamunggay". How do you call them in your local dialect?

20210913_081537.jpg

There were still raindrops left in this while it was already past seven in the morning when we went to our backyard garden.

Did you know that we also use leaves in fresh wounds to stop the bleeding? It's definitely effective!

20210913_081355.jpg

This is one of the older trees and it shows new branches too!

20210913_082154.jpg

I can't help my husband as I am carrying our 13-month-old baby while he was replanting them. our garden is a bit a miss right now, our pechay was not growing well and it could be because of the soil.

We are planning to make redo the raised beds and also plan on making some greenhouses too, hopefully soon since it is rainy season right now here in the Philippines.

20210913_081657.jpg

With the use of an old bolo, my husband dug a hole, he made sure that the distance between the hole and the next tree is equal so we could have an alley of moringa trees in the garden.

20210913_081510.jpg

Here are some of our moringa trees which have been cut before, they have grown a significant number of branches already and we had been harvesting these leaves on a daily basis! We all love moringa, I take a lot of moringas when I was still pregnant and even after giving birth.

As of today, I am also taking moringa capsules to help with my milk supply.

20210913_081411.jpg

The tree has been planted very close to the raised bed but nothing to worry as we will be making adjustments with our raised beds soon.

20210913_081420.jpg

20210913_081520.jpg

More of our Moringa trees. The bottom part look bald as we always harvest them.

And a few weeks ago, my husband had planted two barks and now this is how it looked:

20210913_081437.jpg

It has already grown leaves and they look healthy! We didn't even take care of it after planting. We just let nature take care of it.

This is the best thing about moringa, it grows without proper aftercare and it supplies us with abundant leaves! This is actually considered a superfood!

While my baby and I were just roaming around the garden, my slippers had already accumulated a lot of soft soil. I could feel the heaviness and so I stopped underneath the soursop tree or the Guyabano tree and I noticed it has flowers! It's been a while since I last saw its flowers so I was happy to show my baby about it. I was talking and showing it to him as if he understands me.

20210913_082057.jpg

If you are one who has not seen its flowers yet, look at this one, it even looks amazing that they just stick into the branch.

20210913_082048.jpg

There were a lot of flowers in fact! It was not visible while away from the tree. It was only when I got near it that I was able to notice the flowers! Some were still closed and yet to bloom and were still in green color.

20210913_082031.jpg

I am glad that we get to go out, get some sun on our skin, and even discovered the flowers of the Guyabano tree. We had harvested one Guyabano fruit three weeks ago, which I missed posting, the photos were still in my husband's camera so I need to get that first and then edit the images. I will surely share that in the next few days, perhaps on another Wednesday Walk article.

20210913_081945.jpg

Thank you for reading this post guys! Enjoy your day!

xoxo,
junebride

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency