Wednesday Walk - THROUGH THE NICELY DESOLATE ATMOSPHERE

There is a small beach along the road that leads from Medulin, my hometown, to another small town called Premantura, a short stretch of shoreline equipped with summer stands & parasols, and covered with pebbles brought by the waves.

img_8013_malo.jpg

I was driving back home from Premantura, where I photographed some macro stuff on the steep stony coast with the view on the open sea ...

img_8009_malo.jpg

... and I did this unplanned stop, here in the bay ...

img_8011_malo.jpg

... mostly because of these constructions used for some summer entertainment ... I think ... although I can't tell you what kind of entertainment exactly, maybe something that involves jumping ... or swinging ... something exciting, I guess ...

img_8007_malo.jpg

... these things looked pretty cool in the shallow water ...

(Enlargeable)

... so, I parked the car by the small summer stand that offers Ice creams & cocktails when it's opened ...

img_8017_malo.jpg

... prepared my camera, stretch my legs a bit, and in a minute or two, I was ready for sniffing around the empty beach ...

img_8030_malo.jpg

... in search of something to shoot.

img_8054_malo.jpg

The place looked desolate, slightly post apocalyptic ... and quite nicely so :D

img_8028_malo.jpg

I like to photograph objects and buildings in this kind of atmosphere.

img_8035_malo.jpg

I came across this unexpected warning sign ... and didn't see any kid around ... but I slowed down anyway ... because of the slight creepiness of the overall atmosphere, I didn't imagine some normal kids playing on the beach, the Children of the Corn was the first thing that came to my mind.

img_8023_malo.jpg

Some things in this place looked abandoned, like leftovers of the old world ...

img_8046_malo.jpg

... while other, like this small garden with aromatic and decorative plants ...

img_8047_malo.jpg

... were fresh and tidy.

img_8051_malo.jpg

Nearby was a cement cube with the Electricity meter or something similar inside. The small red lights were flashing rhythmically, so the whole thing looked like a little robot ... some kind of quadrangular R2-D2 ... or something like that.

img_8052_malo.jpg

Some time later, while the evening was approaching, I noticed a camera on the small cabin not far from there ... it looked strangely clean and futuristic on this wooden planks.

img_8024_malo.jpg

Here you can see the scenery across the bay ...

img_8026_malo.jpg

... and take a look at Medulin, my hometown.

img_8055_malo.jpg

I saw some blue plastic stuff piled on the edge of the beach ...

img_8058_malo.jpg

... I came closer to see what is this ... but I still don't know ... it looks like something that can float ... and create a raft or platform on the sea ...

img_8057_malo.jpg

... I'll call it " the blue floating stuff " ... until I find the right word.

img_8056_malo.jpg

The rope with small white buoys was nicely arranged near the blue floating stuff.

img_8014_malo.jpg

While walking back to the car ... to the opposite end of the beach ...

img_8037_malo.jpg

... I noticed three little gardens inside some kind of wooden containers ...

img_8038_malo.jpg

... I mean, I noticed them before ... but only now did I notice that they look pretty cool ... with a different mix of plants in each container.

img_8041_malo.jpg

In this one, the grapevine was dominant.

img_8042_malo.jpg

I was passing under the pine tree when I noticed these cones ... so I sopped to take this shot.

img_8063_malo.jpg

A bit further I photographed this changing room ... at least I think it's called the changing room ... that thing where one can have a bit of privacy when dressing and undressing.

img_8060_malo.jpg

The sun was going down above the children park nearby ...

img_8067_malo.jpg

... I photographed some ropes ...

img_8065_malo.jpg

... arranged to look like a wig on the log at the edge of the recreational area for children ...

img_8064_malo.jpg

... I photographed the base of some old pine as well ... and then ...

(Enlargeable)

... I came closer to the sea, and took a good look at the pebbles ... there was a nice variety of textures and colors among those little stones.

(Enlargeable)

The hooded crow was searching for snacks along the shore ... I took a few shots ... and then, when the bird flew away ...

(Enlargeable)

... I was ready to drive home.

As always in these walks on HIVE, the photographs are my work.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency