Prairie Flowers in the Evening

Here are a few prairie flowers on an evening walk.
p7171605_copy.jpg
I'm no expert on flower identification but I do know this is a monarch butterfly on some wildflowers in the prairie.

p7191667_copy.jpg
It then flew onto some milkweed flowers, their favorite meal.

p7171612_copy.jpg
This probably doesn't count as a flower but the Sumac tree pollen looks nice and colorful right now.

p7171603_copy.jpg
These red flowers match the sumac color nicely. I have no idea what these are...

p7171604_copy.jpg
I believe this is echinacea. Another popular hangout for bees and butterflies.

p7171631_copy.jpg
Here is what looks like Queen Ann's Lace. Though I'm not entirely sure I'm correct on the ID.

p7171606_copy.jpg
Here are some stinky yellow flowers. If you cut the stems they smell really bad.

p7171607_copy.jpg
The sun highlights their hairy stems nicely in the evening.

p7171632_copy.jpg
Here are some wild berries. I don't think they are actually blackberries but something similar with lots of large seeds in them. They are a nice snack to pick while on a walk but if you eat them you end up spitting out lots of seeds that get stuck in your teeth.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency