Phoenix - chapter 57 - Swan Valley

Phoenix_01_text_margins_1600.png

(previously...)

57

.
Arriving at the construction site, across a field from Nighthawk’s earthship, Phoenix, leaned the crutches against a bush and forced her eyes away from the shell of her house so she could look around at the generous plot of land assigned to her home, taking care of where she placed her foot. She wondered what kind of plants would come up when everyone stopped traipsing across it. She wondered what other things she could grow. She looked towards Nighthawk’s again, grateful that several more earthships would be built in the gap this summer. If she didn’t manage to secure Sage Eagle’s forgiveness and friendship, then she wouldn’t have to be constantly reminded every time she looked out her windows or tended her plants.

Rose ran around with Dove, looking for shoots of anything that would signify spring. Little Deer kept with them.

Phoenix thought of the hunters and sent up a little prayer that they would all come home safely. No dispute between her and anyone would make her wish anyone ill. Even Frank… she had never wished him ill. No matter how cruel he was, she had never wished anything more than to live in harmony – strange how it had to come without him.

“So somber,” Nighthawk’s gentle low voice intruded her thoughts.

“Just remembering my ex again… and how no matter how much he hurt me, I never wished him ill. Even though he threatened to kill us… All I wanted was harmony. Maybe a bit of love and respect would have been nice, but harmony would have been enough.”

“Harmony is impossible without love and respect,” Nighthawk observed. “And usually, love and respect will result in harmony as well.”

Phoenix looked at him and noticed another man standing with him. Another older man, part native, she was certain now.

“Your attorney has come early. Can you come now?”

“I was just looking at my home,” she replied.

“I can wait until the appointed time,” the attorney added.

“Give me a few minutes and I will come.”

Nighthawk and the attorney both nodded. “Would you like me to show you around?” the chieftain offered.

“Please.”

“Take my arm, if you would. I wouldn’t have you twist your ankle again. My son would be angry if I didn’t take care of you.”

“Kwina does not care for me,” Phoenix said with a sigh, putting her hand on his arm. “It is all right, I do not hold it against him. I only wish for him to forgive me for offending him. There will be another man for me when I am more ready.” Phoenix wished that it didn’t hurt so much to say it.

“You are brave. May your man truly deserve you. Now, come, let’s tour your unfinished home so that we may get down to business,” Nighthawk said.

Phoenix blinked the tears that threatened, and walked with Nighthawk who showed her all the different features that were being developed in her home, the walls, where the bedrooms would be – two on either side of the main rooms. Against the mounded earth were two large, but windowless rooms. “I use one for storage. My children use the other as a den,” Nighthawk explained. “Your home nears completion. Maybe another week of work still, then it will be ready for you to move in.”

“You are doing too much for me,” Phoenix suddenly protested, wiping tears from her eyes. “I do not deserve so much...” The wiped tears were replaced by new ones. She had tried so hard not to cry around anyone other than Dancing Bear!

“Phoenix…,” Nighthawk said soothingly. “You truly believe that, don’t you? I am sorry that anyone has ever made you feel that way.” He held her as her tears fell, wetting his soft shirt. If only Sage Eagle understood! That thought made her tears fall even more. “I would adopt you as my own daughter if it wouldn’t anger my son.”

Phoenix felt a fresh sting of pain that she wasn’t welcome by Sage Eagle. She wondered whether her beading was worth the effort. It wouldn’t even be very good, just an offering of her time – seeking only peace. Maybe then, he wouldn’t object to her.

She also felt happiness, that someone wanted her – this wise old Indian liked her enough to consider her as a daughter. Somehow that knowledge helped her clear away her tears. She looked at the old man’s tender face. He smiled. “Now, let’s go and see what we can do about your baggage.”

Phoenix smiled back and accompanied Nighthawk out of her earthship again. She grabbed her crutches again, glad to be able to get off her sore ankle again as the attorney joined them.

Little Deer tagged along, Rose and Dove walking with her.

Sage Eagle swore as he missed another turkey. He wasn’t able to concentrate like he should! It was all her fault too! She irritated and aggravated him like no other woman ever had. Why couldn’t he just leave her be? Why couldn’t he just leave her to the likes of his cousin. He knew Jade Wolf had kissed her a few times. He also knew that the kiss she’d shared publicly with Pronghorn was nothing compared to how Jade Wolf had probably kissed her.

More than once, Sage Eagle had tried to pry information out of his cousin. Jade Wolf had complained more than once about the fact that Phoenix seemed unavailable despite being very obviously single. His cousin’s frustration was to Sage Eagle’s satisfaction. She didn’t need a man like Jade Wolf, that was for sure!

“You’re a little off your game today,” Swift Fox said, joining him with his twin, Swift Falcon.

“Yeah,” he groaned.

“Woman problems?” Swift Falcon suggested.

He grunted his response. “There’s no woman in my life!”

“I’m pretty sure I heard that from Crow last year… just before he went after his… and came back with her in tow!”

“A good woman is worth the chase!” Swift Fox added.

“Which would be why you’re both still single! Sorry, but you’re not qualified to comment,” Sage Eagle scowled.

“The sooner you admit that you love her, the better it will be for all involved!” Swift Falcon prodded.

“Your aim will improve as well,” Swift Fox goaded. “Better than coffee, anyway!” The man galloped out of range, still laughing.

Swift Falcon galloped after his twin.

“Coooo….naaaag...wwiiii,” the wind reminded him.

“Kwitta!” he cried out again. He didn’t want to be reminded of the woman who never left him alone, not even in his thoughts! She hadn’t proven herself yet – not to him, anyway… He couldn’t imagine how she could prove herself… but he wasn’t going to let that bother him too much. Until she proved herself, he would not give in.

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to the prologue

Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase at Books2Read. Print version will be available soon.

THANK YOU to everyone who has purchased one of my books. I appreciate every single one!

Image Credits

Phoenix
Genesis 8.1 by DAZ 3D Studio
Summer Dress by Pusey Designs
Mitsu Hair
Dice Earrings by Fisty
.
Sage Eagle
Genesis 8.1
Mada TnC Jeans by DAZ
Gypsy Shirt by Pusey Designs
PH Classic Hair
.
Kitten
Housecat by HiveWire
.
Background
Room4 by SmidA


Previous Swan Valley Stories:

  • Native Concession either in ebook form or [print]( . (June 2014, approximately 9 months before Phoenix.)

Location:

Swan Valley is a fictitious American Indian reservation located in the Great Divide Basin of Wyoming, USA. The Neme'o'ng (Swan People) are based on the idea of blending the Shoshoni and Arapaho peoples - as might have happened if they were stranded in a desolate area as a small band of misfits. I have developed their language from the same ideas.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency