The comfort coffee brings to me!

I’ve been thinking about a lot of stuff lately. I was drowned with emotions, puzzled by losses, and stressed with problems. I used to be good at dealing with drawbacks. I know I was the kind of person who can easily pull herself together amidst adversities. But something knocked me down real hard and I hit rock bottom. I felt suffocated. And I almost lost track.



F17EA8F1-B454-4082-88F3-D0D9CAFE4B43.jpeg

It’s a Sunday morning and I felt really lazy. Nothing can make me move an inch. Neither the buttery aroma of pancake that my husband made for me nor the warm chocolate drink he made from tablèa did make me get up from bed. My partner knew me too well and didn’t force me to even budge. What he did was entice me with my most favorite drink - coffee!

Lately, I’ve been in love with iced coffee and was even torn between tea and coffee. My husband knew about this as I kept on messaging him bragging about my newly experimented ratio that shook my taste bud (hahaha kidding aside). So to lift my spirit a bit, he did a little experiment - DIY iced coffee-tea drink.

9B7DA16C-87F0-4F43-88D2-C649057937A4.jpeg

As a black coffee lover, I didn’t expect to like iced coffee this much. Oh well, with my spontaneity kicking from time to time, I can get why I instantly fell in love with iced coffee. And I am just so glad that I was given a partner who’s always been there - both a listener, a keen observer, and a great comforter.

He made me this drink with so much love that I ended up obsessing the way he made it. So let’s talk about something that has been taking up so much space in my heart lately while I share with you the steps in making this delish iced drink.


First, he poured the tea into a glass of ice.

This reminds me of the common expression spill the tea. I hope no one calls me oversensitive when I tell you I’ve been feeling down because of some K-drama series. hahaha! Seriously, I am not joking hivers. I have just finished Hometown Cha-cha-cha and that’s the main reason I’ve been feeling blue. It has had a huge impact on me. It made me rethink how I have been dealing with pain and how I have been handling my relationship. It showed so much healing that I ended up with swollen eyes. It’s a very refreshing Korean drama. And it’s as refreshing as this drink.

I have always been a fan of Korean drama and this is the first blog that I have ever mentioned a series I dearly love. This is indeed me spilling the tea.


52AA8C78-D475-444E-BFCA-DA0A8475B0E0.jpeg

Second, here comes the milk!

Milk may be a source of nutrition for some but is generally avoided by several people as they are lactose-intolerant!

In the K-drama series I just recently finished, I realized how diverse relationships can be. One type of relationship may not fit the other and vice versa. Also, the series showed all of us that every person has his/her battle to face.

To be honest, I am not a milk person growing up but I learned to accept how it can add flavor to my coffee. I still get the rumbling noise from my stomach and also the ache milk brings to my tummy but I like how my usual black coffee has now been sweetened by milk. Well, I guess that makes life even more surprising. Unique as we are, our nature still tells us to try to blend in just like how this milk blends perfectly with my tea.


image.png

Lastly, mix in the coffee!

Life is not always sweet milk or refreshing tea as it can also be a bitter coffee.

The K-drama series Hometown Cha-cha-cha showed us that life is indeed a combination of problems, solutions, gifts, love, forgiveness, and reconciliation. As I've said, it's a healing drama. It might have been under the spotlight not just because of how good it is but because of a certain Korean actor, just remember that the storyline got famous first before the issue got leaked. Well, I must admit I am a fan of the involved actor but even if he didn't play the role of the leading man, I am certain I would still love the series just the same. It's a drama everyone should watch! I will not always recommend a series although I have honestly watched a bunch of series and movies. I have huge respect for personal preferences and I know we all don't share the same perspective thus it's hard for me to recommend a certain drama. But this is an exception! And you'll know soon when you start watching this series. * winks *


Author's note

Life is a combination of everything you can imagine. Life may have added milk first before the coffee or tea before the milk or altogether. There's just one thing you should remember, life is full of balance that you might have overlooked sometimes.

I have been healed by the said series. From episode one through episode sixteen, I have felt a different kind of longing. I miss my hometown, my Gongjin!


4969E338-57A8-4B1D-BA8E-195F08BC7693.jpeg

Nikka Mededa, the author

I am an engineer, a mother, an aspiring photographer, and a blogger. I am a workaholic mom who found its comfort through brewing coffee and making home-cooked meals. I write and read a lot, but I think I collect books even more. And there is nothing more fulfilling than finally ticking off the books on my reading list. Hopefully, one day!

I love to fulfill my childhood dream of becoming an author, and so here I am, in my little corner in the blockchain. I hope you had a good read and check out more here ---> @nikkabomb. Love lots.

***
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency