An afternoon chitchat at work

We've been busy since Monday and today's the only day when we can pause our office works for a while to enjoy some cold drinks. My officemates - @itsmezoe and @kimshinimba - burned the midnight oil for the previous days because of deadlines that fell on our Big Boss' birthday. We wasted no minute and finished the video presentation on the same day we filmed it. I am still thinking about whether or not I will upload it, because honestly, I am no dancer. But anyway, today I'll be sharing with all of you how happy I am for this afternoon chitchat I had with my officemates over some cold drinks - which by the way, I made for the three of us.


The drinks


I prepared coffee-milk-tea for me and @itsmezoe and a blue Gatorade with sparkle drink for @kimshinimba.

I was sleepy this morning that I barely managed to stay awake till afternoon so, I consumed more than 4 grams of Nescafe black grind coffee. After drinking my usual morning coffee, I still needed more caffeine to keep my eyelids from shutting down. So afternoon break came, and I made some DIY iced coffee (again). It is a mixture of one teabag of Twining's English breakfast tea, 2 Nescafé sticks diluted in 100mL water, 200 mL milk, a tablespoon of honey, and a bunch of ice. Kim's drink is just a 1:1 mixture of blue Gatorade and Sparkle, and I think it will even look cooler if only I had a slice of lemon (maybe next time).

I have always loved preparing food and drinks instead of buying expensive ones. Yes, I am that frugal. But aside from that, I do enjoy offering drinks and food to the people dear to me. I may not be the best in what I do, but I love to improve on what I enjoy doing.


The bonding


When I joined the company, am already been friends with @kimshinimba since we were college best friends. @itsmezoe became one of the persons I adored when I got to know her closely. We share the same love for photography and film-making, Korean drama, books, motherhood, and coffee. Not long after, the three of us became close friends. And one of our favorite office times is the afternoon chitchat.

08361459-D510-4AFD-97CB-9489153C2668.jpeg


The chitchat


During our break time, we talked about womanhood. @kimshinimba told us in her previous blog that she and her partner, is trying to get pregnant for more than a year now. @itsmezoe also told us in her intro post that she's a single mother. And I, on the other hand, am on the journey of married life. The three of us had set foot on different soils. Yet, we're here treating each other as equal. Why? Because even if we are now facing different struggles, we carry the banner of one - womanhood.

949606B4-8356-485B-ADA7-DB143409A99A.jpeg

I am so proud of all the women in the world! I am proud of my mother, sisters, and my friends! Being a single mom is difficult. And from the perspective of someone who's currently in a relationship (me), I respect these women. Raising a child on their own is difficult because it's even hard for me raising a daughter with a partner by my side. I am also aware of the hardships women face in their journey to get pregnant, wanting to take care of their babies someday. @kimshinimba also confided to us the struggles she faces with all the pressure she's receiving from her parents and his partner's parents. And of course, let's not forget those women who consciously decided to be single. I completely understand and respect them. Whatever challenges each of us may face, please know that I am proud of you! And always remember that no circumstance is shallower than the other because each of our feelings should never be ignored or invalidated.

4E37D596-BDC8-41A2-AF15-C2D159E85371.jpeg


Author's Note


We may be sailing in life facing big waves with fear in our hearts, but I hope you won't forget to find the courage in your heart to ride the waves until you reach your destination. Hold onto the faith you have for a better life. And always remember that every struggle comes with the intention of growth.


4969E338-57A8-4B1D-BA8E-195F08BC7693.jpeg

Nikka Mededa, the author

I am an engineer, a mother, an aspiring photographer, and also a blogger. A workaholic mom who found its comfort through brewing coffee and making home-cooked meals. I write and read a lot but I think I collect books even more. And there’s nothing more fulfilling than finally ticking off the books my reading list. Hopefully, one day!

I really love to fulfill my childhood dream of becoming an author and so here I am, in my little corner in the blockchain. I hope you had a good read and check out more here ---> @nikkabomb. Lovelots.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency