I Need To Get Back On The Coffee Wagon!

photo-1541167760496-1628856ab772.jpeg

These past few days I have been sleeping more than my usual hours. Normally, I sleep for like four to five hours at a stretch every night with maybe one or two restroom breaks. My sleeping pattern changed about a week ago, the reason being I tried to wean myself off coffee partially.

I say partially because I do this every once in a while when I notice some subtle changes in my body's reaction to constant caffeine.

Okay, I love to drink coffee. It's common knowledge that coffee is a stimulant that keeps the body alert, enhances concentration by increasing our energy dose and decreasing fatigue. There is no day I don't drink at least two cups, both caffeinated and decaf, just because I love the taste and it helps me stay alert for the better part of the day.

cup-gdbcd6018a_640.jpg

When I drink coffee consistently, it alters my sleep patterns sometimes. I sleep less and even within the less hours, I wake up severally for no reason and then it takes a while to go back to sleep.

Whenever this happens, I take a break from drinking coffee for like a week or two. I must confess it's not easy weaning myself off it because I am kind of addicted. Hehe.

I have done this weaning exercise a few times over the years and I am familiar with the withdrawal symptoms. About the first or second day, I get these terrible splitting headaches and become a bit fatigued. Like my body and metabolism goes into slow motion.

headache-g81c3d2a86_640.jpg

Usually, what I do to help with the headaches is to increase my herbal tea intake and hydrate more. It always helps.

This time around, I decided to wean my body off coffee for just this week alone. Funny thing is, I don't have a headache but I sleep more than usual! I also feel lethargic.

cup-g1cc24afa9_640.jpg

At work, it's like I should find a place to just lie down and sleep. Could this be the result of weaning my body off coffee?

At the moment, I am staying away from black and green tea because of their caffeine content. I mean, why take a break from coffee and still indulge in the caffeine of black/green tea? It would be no weaning at all.

I suspect it could be the reason I am sleepy and fatigued during the day. Now I am tempted to return to drinking coffee again, if only to kickstart my body system. I wouldn't want to fall asleep at work! LOL!

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Image 1
Image 2
Image 3
Image 4

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency