Hell no...But coffee

20210924_122039.jpg

"Not if I was starving to death and needed money to buy a meal to sustain my life."

I didn't say those exact words but that's what was going through my head as I politely declined the offer. I smiled, more of a lop-sided smirk that passes as my smile, and thanked the fellow for the amazing opportunity then respectfully declined with some dialogue focused around me wanting a break after so long in the industry.


An hour earlier I'd met a fellow I've known for over fifteen years; initially a competitor as we were both in commercial real estate sales at the time, but later an acquaintance. We used to catch up and tell lies now and then and he'd bounce ideas about his fledgling real estate business off me as my own company operated in a completely different sector than his. We'd meet in a coffee shop, the age-old location for business meetings, have a few cups and generally have a good old industry-related yarn. [A yarn is Australian for talk.]

He called me last week and proposed a catch up and with some time on my hands I decided to make that meeting happen; coffee was involved and I figured I'd eat also, so why not? I'm not one to decline coffee.

We small-talked about the industry a little and he asked how I've been lately knowing I quit my job to engage in some me time about six weeks ago.

He probed to see if I'd started looking for work and what roles I'd applied for. Considering I've recently applied and interviewed for a few I told him the truth and surprised him that those roles were all outside of the property industry where I've worked for the last twenty years. He said, but what about all of your property experience? I get it, I know a lot, but I know more about people and how to deal with them and that's transferrable.

As we sipped our coffee's and consumed some tasty croissants he began to get to the point of the meeting, but took a circuitous route. I heard all about his business, what had been going on lately, the challenges and successes, staffing issues, industry pressures from the market and legislation perspective, issues with the finance-sector, people's demanding attitudes and then...The point came.

The hell no face

I'll not go into the details but he asked if I was open to the thought of coming back to the industry and working for him in sales.

This is the appropriate time to insert my opening line once again.

"Not if I was starving to death and needed money to buy a meal to sustain my life."

Again, I didn't say that, I just thought it. Fortunately I had my Oakley's on when I gave my answer as had he been able to see my eyes he'd have known I was deploying my hell no face and I wouldn't have wanted to offend him.

Naturally, him being him, he had a few tries at it - I don't blame him for trying - but was unsuccessful in enticing me back into the industry. He made a reasonable offer actually and if I was thinking of going back to sales I'd have been quite pleased but I just can't see myself doing it. I've been in management for the last...Well, almost a decade now, and dropping back into a property-sales role, residential or commercial, would probably end me...OK maybe not quite but it's just not something I want to do. The industry has changed so dramatically and not for the better. So I respectfully declined.

We sat at the café for a while longer and he had another try, a different angle of course, but equally unsuccessful; I didn't mind, but my answer was the same.


Success is peace of mind which is a direct result of self-satisfaction in knowing you did your best to become the best you are capable of becoming.

John Wooden

When I decided to quit my job I knew I may not find a suitable role for some time to come; I intended to be selective.

I didn't let the prospect of that dissuade me from my course though; my life seemed more important. I wanted to find time for myself, to look within, without the pressures of work weighing upon me, the need to drive at results. I found that space, the inner-quiet, and am a better man for it and I'll carry that forward to future successes.

It's for this reason I'll not go back to my previous industry; the fact I don't believe I can do my best there and therefore be my best. It's for that reason I declined the offer with a hell no respectful few sentences and a smile. My friend took it well and we ended up our meeting with smiles, hand shakes and promises to meet again.

It was a good meeting, I got coffee, had a laugh or two and knowing this chap valued me well-enough to want me to come on-board with his company was a nice positive injection. It felt satisfying and reminded me of that John Wooden quote above. I feel I did my best in my previous career and that I was a success - that I still am - and it was nice to see that underlined by the job offer.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
95 Comments
Ecency