Laketown: A Tale Of Two Pizzas

copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_copy_of_dark_and_cream_specials_coffee_photo_collage.jpg

He had heard enough. The shadowy man had to tell Danny Rupert about those lowlife thieves! Once Larry was well out of the city, he slowed his horse to a steady trot. Not stopping except to care for the gelding, the spy made his way to the Pizza Baron's keep. He arrived before noon.

"You did well, as always."

"Thank you, Danny. Should I return to Laketown now?"

"Not yet, Larry. I might have a more important assignment for you. Until then rest, and enjoy the pizza."

"Thank you, I will!"

"Well, now I know what Dutch has to tell me... It should be a good lesson for him. I'll have double pizzas delivered for breakfast tomorrow before he can leave for the meeting. It'll save me an unnecessary trip."

Danny was in an especially foul mood because of the recent problems. He was used to things going his way.

"I'll include a note telling him where to look for his thieves. They'll be in the hold of their ship. Tied up and wrapped in canvas, for an early Christmas present." He couldn't help but chuckle at the thought.

Meanwhile Dutch was sleeping fitfully. The pizza thefts, along with that other matter, had inspired some strange dreams. Dreams of olives sinking to the bottom of the lake. And pizza disappearing just as he tried to take a bite.

Knock knock

"Message from Danny Rupert, Sir."

"Leave it on my table, then you may go."

"Two days? Oh well, I really do need to see him as soon as possible..."

After another fitful night of sleeplessness, Dutch awoke to the wonderful aroma of pizza!

"Please send my thanks to Danny, along with this message." he said as he hastily wrote the letter.

"Take fresh horses. You may return them and collect your mounts in three days."

"What? He still wants to meet? Now I am curious..." said Danny, frowning. He was certain that the pizza theft had been the news.

"Hello, Dutch. It's always a pleasure to chat with you. But we aren't here for a social visit, are we?"

"No, unfortunately not. I have some bad news, Danny. Someone wants the trades agreed upon at The Feast Of 10000 Pizzas to fail."

"And what makes you believe this?"

"I received an ominous note. I arranged for this meeting immediately, because I knew you would have a plan." he said, handing over a worn piece of paper.

"There will be a shipment of olives arriving from Italy. Either it ends up on the bottom of the lake, or you do." was written in pencil, on a normal looking piece of paper.

Danny held it up to the light, trying to find any potential clues. Faintly scratched into the bottom of the other side, without any lead to make it plain, were some scratches. They were thin and faint, perhaps made by a lapel pin.

"You have to stop the Predas. They will murder anyone who gets in the way."

"Well, this certainly is news..." said Danny Rupert in a low, angry voice.

This is a 100% power up post

Cover image is from Canva, using their gallery

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency