Prineville Reservoir, Rock Formations and a Drive Along the North Shore Road

Join me as I take a solo trip along the north shore of Prineville reservoir. See the rock formations, wild flowers and the general beauty of nature as I traverse the nearly 10 mile, single lane dirt road.


Click images for larger view

It's been a while since I've been out on a trip in the boonies like this, so I had some trepidation about even making the journey. Much like myself my 2004 Jeep Wrangler is not getting any younger and so things do start to fail. lol. Luckily all went well and as you can see from the picture above (and below), I was rewarded with nature's beauty and a cleansing of my mind, body and soul. 😃

99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png

My first rock formation as I enter Prineville Reservoir State Park. Here in the western US we are experiencing extreme drought conditions and normally the water would be all the way up to the bottom of this picture. You can also see the exposed vegetation free bank that would usually be covered with water.

A couple panoramas of the same formation with slightly different angles and lenses. If you seen my posts before you will know I love to make panos in Lightroom. 😁


Click images for larger view

A couple more shots before I'm on my way down the dusty road.


This is a shot from one of the many small recreational parking spots off of the dirt road. It almost looks like there might be a small cave in the rock feature above. This is also the spot I saw the only other human on my drive. A park ranger doing maintenance. It was truly a great day for soaking in the serenity and being one with nature.

Some more of the different vegetation growing in the area.

A close up look at the yellow wildflowers.

Did I tell you I like panoramas? Of course I did. 😀

Since I stitch them together later using Lightroom I have to make sure that I get plenty of overlap in the shots or the procedure will fail. This one was made with 3 elevations of at least 4 shots each.

A little fun with the view. IRL the rock is tilted not the trees.😋

A last view before leaving the dirt road...

and a few shots of one last formation back on the HWY 380.

I like the hole in the rock and the birds resting and flying around near the top in this one.

Click images for larger view

Please feel free to make comments or ask me any questions about this post.

Photos taken by me, @oldmans, with a Nikon D3300 and some Lightroom post processing.
Please visit Pinmapple to see the locations of some of my other posts.
Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

My NFT Showroom

My Lensy Gallery


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency