Flora, Fauna and Rocks - A Sunday Walk

It has been a while since I took my camera along for one of my walks in the woods by my home. So follow along with me as I take a walk through nature and enjoy some of the sights and feelings I experienced. 😀


Wildflowers and some obsidian that is quite prevalent in this small section of the forest.

Click images for larger view

99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png

I take these walks almost daily and I am fortunate to have such a peaceful place to do daily walks. I rarely ever see another person and the quiet allows me to really match my vibrational energy to that of the surrounding nature. The physical and mental aspects of these walks have untold benefits for my mind, body and soul.


I live in an area that had a lot of volcanic upheaval in the past. Hence the obsidian in the picture above and many rock formations like these.
99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png



This was quite a sight for me. I usually see these when they are all white and high in trees. This is the first time I have come across one where the caterpillars were so close to going on their separate ways. I must say the writhing mass was a little creepy. 😟


A little further down the trail was this ant hill. Last year this mound was covered with ants, this year it looks like they are just starting to wake up and start doing what ants do.


99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png

A sampling of the wild flowers


Click images for larger view



Indian Paintbrush



Click images for larger view
99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png

After I thought my picture taking was done, I had two more subjects beg me to be included in the photo shoot. 😀

This little tree frog jumped across the trail in front of me...

And this little Golden Mantel posed very briefly on this stump. He has good camouflage so you may have to zoom in to see him.

Thanks for joining me on my little walk! Please feel free to make comments or ask me any questions about this post.

Photos taken by me, @oldmans, with a Nikon D3300 and some Lightroom post processing.
Please visit Pinmapple to see the locations of some of my other posts.
Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

My NFT Showroom

My Lensy Gallery


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency