BECOMING A FATHER

Three years ago I became a father to my 3 siblings and mother. This was a time when I was still trying to figure out what to do with my life. I had lost my father a week before my graduation. I found out minutes after I wrote my last paper in uni. While everyone else was excited about their new prospects as graduates, I was overwhelmed by my new reality.

Stepping into my father’s shoes hasn’t been easy. I did not have a job, nor did I enjoy the support of my extended family. Everyone was looking up to me to stand up and become something I wasn't sure of and that came with a lot of pressure.

There were times I wanted to run away but I couldn't. “What would become of my family?” I thought. That wasn’t a burden I was hoping to carry on for the rest of my life. So I decided to become the best father figure I could possibly be and that I consider my destiny.

My sole goal in life currently is to ensure that my siblings become the best that they can possibly be and to ensure that my mother is well-taken care of. I feel a huge sense of pride and accomplishment when I achieve this on any level.

My best accomplishments in the past 3 years have been two things: putting a roof over my family’s head and making sure my siblings stay in school, of which two are about getting into college. I wouldn’t say our lives are perfect now but it is a whole lot better than it was 3years ago and I am sure my father will be proud wherever he is currently.

Although I look back with some level of sadness (I do miss my father), I feel a huge sense of gratitude about my journey as a father and everyone who directly or indirectly made it possible to achieve this great feat.

Today marks three years since my father’s passing. It has been the most challenging period of my life but it did not swallow me. I have done things that would have seemed impossible a couple of years ago and i want to thank God for making that possible

I am sure, without any doubt, that my father will be proud of the man I have become. That is my badge of honour. No one (including him) would have imagined that i could do the things i currently do for my family, even my relatives are stunned. But I thank God and the hive community for the opportunities. It has been life-changing.


Wishing you godspeed, glory
There will be mountains you won't move
Still I'll always be there for you
How I do

Godspeed - Frank Ocean

With every day that passes by I tend to appreciate even more the love and support, you showed us, your family. Not every man is capable of these incredible feats. You stuck with us even through difficult times. I have learnt a ton of lessons by just observing your life and I hope I can afford my siblings (your children) the same luxuries. You thought me what it means to be a man and i will never forget.

On days like this, I am forced to remember that you are no longer here and it sucks. Notwithstanding, I still feel you live in me and that gives me the courage to step out into the world and be the best I can possibly be.

Keep resting papa. You are loved and remembered.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency