MIND THE LEASH!

MIND THE LEASH!



LEASH CHECKED

01_leash_checked.jpg


Dogs, Dogs and More Dogs!

This city has gone to the dogs, literally and figuratively. They are everywhere here and I sometimes wonder if they secretly planned a city wide (maybe beyond) takeover. Then I see the leash reminder and its full stop on any secret dog club rulers.


We’re going dog walking 😉. Yes, I promise I’ve stayed away from photographing dog poop in this post, so you can relax and read comfortably without eye stepping into any messy surprises. 🤪



SPEED WALK

02_speed_walk.jpg



It seems I’m writing about and photographing many subjects I didn’t even consider approaching, previous to being on Hive. All of you, in one way or another have inspired me and continue to inspire me to grow. It’s the community that I’ve found here on Hive that’s resulted in my choice to be open to new experiences. Additionally, without the community here, I know I would have had little interest in joining the platform. Thank you to everyone on Hive for that beautiful inspiration!


For this particular post, I was overly inspired by so many “doggy” influences from @stayten that I think I’m part dog now. He did mention the possibility of getting a dog and I’m wondering what kind of dog he has in mind. This must be why I’ve been inundated with so many dog references and images to the point that my brainwashing in favour of dogs is complete. May the dogs return to you @stayten and not leave wet, muddy footprints in my path! 😉😜



MUD PRINT

03_mud_print.jpg



Walking on past the muddy paw prints, its spot the dog time. My thoughts were, do I ask someone if I can photograph them with their dog, and if not, maybe just their dog? Perhaps I can just photograph from a distance, since my camera lens has a zoom feature. Bottom line, how do I approach this? My only plan was to go out and photograph dogs. Decision made; I’ll take each situation as it arises in the moment. That put a halt to the mind chatter, so I could focus.



LEASH LED

04_leash_led.jpg



In this image, the woman was initially walking towards me. I felt I shouldn’t ask her at all, so I waited until she went by to take photos from behind. The whole time I watched how she handled the leash and the dog’s response. She had to direct him everywhere, pulling on the leash. A stubborn little dog that wasn’t fond of being directed to do anything.

Do you mind your leash, all those “unseen” ones?



OBEDIENCE TREAT

05_obedience_treat.jpg



The owner of this dog declined to be photographed, but was very happy to pose her dog for me instead. She had her dog sit first. I noticed she also kept treats at the ready to reward her dog for obeying. Her dog was well mannered and did as it was told immediately. It was however, very focused on the owner, since she was holding a treat and would not look at anything else.

Are you always obedient and focused on your material “treats”?



STEPLOCK

06_steplock.jpg



Often I see people walking their dogs, while operating on auto pilot with their minds otherwise occupied. I watched the man and his dog walk down the street like this, while I took several shots. I noticed that their steps were locked in the same pattern the whole time.

Do you walk in lockstep with the pack?



BLUE GUARDIAN

07_blue_guardian.jpg



Arriving at the dog park, I meet this electric blue dog overlord. City-style ornamentation, everything screams for attention all at once. The blue dog controls the dog park.

Who is your overlord?



DOG PARKED

08_dog_parked.jpg



The chocolate dog was standing, waiting for attention. His owner was oblivious to everything except his cell phone. I watched them for about five minutes through the bars of the dog park. Neither noticed my being there. I watched the dog edge even closer to the man’s hand, almost touching. The man completely ignored him.

How often do you ignore the smallest need for love and acknowledgment?



WATER PLAY

09_water_play.jpg



Playing in the dog park by the fountain, this dog was watching another dog running around. They were engaging in a silent conversation of, “Want to play?” I took many photos showing a whole sequence of this dog’s intent. It gave me this moment of joy at seeing how carefree the dog was in its ability to engage in play.

How free are you to play, engage, learn, and grow?



UNLEASHED TRUST

10_unleashed_trust.jpg



There’s a large park where the fenced dog park is. This dog was never inside the enclosed dog park. Both of them walked through the main park and were in the process of moving to the sidewalk. The dog spent the entire walk off leash. The man must have a well-developed relationship of trust with his dog.

Can you be trusted by your owner to be off the leash?



TONGUE TIRED

11_tongue_tired.jpg



This dog just finished his long walk. I chatted with the two people who were with him and they gave permission for me to take photos. The dog was only interested in resting and probably needed water, since it took several attempts to get a good shot.

How tired are you of being on the leash?



BACKWARD GLANCE

12_backward_glance.jpg



This couple was slowly walking along with their dog, while the woman kept lagging further and further behind. I watched their progress for a while and then started to take photos. At one point, the dog turns its head to look back for the woman, not content with her being left behind.

How much have you lost?



SYNCHRONIZED STEPS

13_synchronized_steps.jpg


Does your mind and its impulses rule your life, or do you know how to wisely leash it?

Can you connect to your true self and walk together harmoniously?



All photos taken by Nine with a Pentax digital 35mm camera.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency