Just because you can doesn't mean you should

jump-863058_640.jpg

That's a quote that hits the spot anytime I come across it. It is the same quote I saw while doing some research in the early hours of this day. To be precise, that was by 1:15 a.m. Immediately I saw it, I paused everything I was doing and embraced my bed. It's as simple as that.

Before that decisive moment, I intended to stay woke until whenever sleep knocks me off my feet. That would be nothing earlier than 2 a.m. You can imagine! And that's the thing about being able to live the way you want. I often stay up late for justifiable reasons, but at this time, I don't feel like justifying the act. All I'm thinking of is the adverse effect that comes with having 4 hours of sleep per day.

You see, being someone that does most of my work online, the type of freedom I get can easily hurt my future if I'm not disciplined enough to always look at the bigger picture in all situations. It's not just about taking a break when the need arises, it has a lot to do with striking a balance between work and life.

This is applicable to anyone who is enjoying 'freedom', especially those that are actively engaged with freelancing or remote works.

entrepreneur-593360_640.jpg

They know that nobody will be on their neck if they decide not to work any day. Nobody will threaten them with a sack letter just because they choose to take a vacation at any time of the week. They don't have to wear uncomfortable corporate wears just because of the laid down dress code of an employer. They just do their thingy and work on their terms.

That's freedom at its best and I know that many people want to be free like that.

Here is the downside;

A great deal of discipline is needed to make sure that such a person will not end up making unwise decisions due to that freedom.

To some people, being free to work from home with no stress of moving from home to office has made them spend more time indoor than supposed. They no longer go for a walk. They just seat at the comfort of their home and enjoy the cool breeze coming from their air-conditioner. Some tie themselves down with work and they end up spending the whole day in front of their gadget. No time to cook a proper meal whatsoever.

Why? Because they can.

I will speak for myself. So far, depriving myself of good sleep is something I shouldn't be doing at the moment even though I can. I feel that I need to start paying closer attention to my health. It would be a pain to sacrifice my health now because of my dreams and end up facing health issues in the long run.

In your case, you already know some of those things that are really not worth it. You just do those things because you feel that you can. It could be distancing yourself from your loved ones or spending unnecessarily on fancy things, just because you can.

The message here is;

Just because you can doesn't mean you should.

Always look at the ripple effect of your action or inaction ✌️

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma
Image Source 1
Image Source 2


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency