The game that saved my relationship with my brother

Video games have always been a passion in my life. My first console was a Pong from Atari, then we got an actual Atari, after that we got a Genesis, a Saturn, PS1, PS2 and my last console was a Xbox 360. I spent a long time of my childhood's life in front of the Genesis system. I think this was the console I most played in my life (of course, I was a kid that had all the time in the world and no responsibilities)

image.png

Pinterest

I have so many memories from this time, playing Castle of Illusion, Quackshot, Strider, General Chaos, Decap Attack, Shadow Dancer, Shinobi, Altered Beast, Kid Chameleon, Toxic Crusaders, all the Sonics, all the Streets of Rage and so many others that the list would go on and on (there was a place near my house that you could rent games, me and my brother zeroed it and started renting all over again, but this story is for another day).

Oh yes, I have an older brother. He is just on year older then me, but when you are a kid one year is like a giant gap. And because he was older, he was always player 1. He was Sonic I was Tails, he was Axel I was Blaze, he would play first and I'll play next. I really hated him for that, I could never choose the game or play it first.

image.png

Why can you be Super Sonic and I'm just the side kick? Source

So that was my life at the moment, always playing second or following him around. Never got to explore first or play it my way, until we found this new game, that had 2 aliens on the cover. They looked like a hot dog, one was the bread and the other one a 3 legged sausage. It was really weird, but I had a good feeling about this game. And it was the best decision of our life to rent it!

image.png

Courtesy of Moby Games

YES!!! I'm talking about the most funky groovy game from Genesis! You play as one of the boys, and have to explore 25 stages to put together their ship so they can go back home. The game is amazing, with many secrets (like stage zero), some cool enemies (just hated the boogie man) and the possibility of swapping life if you high fived you partner (life saver for many times)

But the best part was: IT HAD SPLIT SCREEN!!! YAS!!!

image.png

Source

So finally I had the freedom to explore on my pace, to do things that I wanted, to be my own player one!!! And with this my brother also saw that I had some pretty good ideias and insights about how to play, what's the best strategy, where to go first. And I also could understand that even if you have issues with someone, if you have a common goal, it's much better to do it together then alone!

We ended up buying the game and playing it brought us together. We would play for hours and hours, talk about the game, laugh a lot from the scenes. I have some awesome memories from this time and also I really feel that if not for this game, it would take a longer time for me to consider my brother a friend.

image.png

So, this is my entry to the Hive Pizza contest, that runs in the Hive Pizza Discord. Every week there is a new posting contest, and this time the prize are Untamed Packs!!! So what are you waiting for? Go get you some pizza and join the fun!!!!

Thanks for reading until here!!!
Keep posting and keep shinning!

image.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency