Undesirable Paradise. POB WOTW SOLITUDE

Have you ever been surrounded by people you love or people that loves you yet you completely feel alone? Have you ever felt lost even in your own skin feeling you are drowning right on your couch?

At some point or the other we all have had related feeling. It might just be a puzzle of our lives that needs to be solved yet affecting the flourishing aspect.

Having moved to a new city I thought to visit an old friend that was a colleague at my previous work place. She married an accountant who happened to be a Muslim but now works with the government, she left her job then to move in with her husband at the Capital.

prin.jpg

As I drove into her compound, I couldn't help but to look around like a village girl. It was a very big mansion that has a golf course, a mini zoo, a well equipped gym that you could see from outside and a beautiful lake at a corner. My Ego wouldn't allow me take pictures lol. So i concluded in my heart that this must be a Happy Place.

After about minutes of waiting at the guest living room, She showed up looking extremely radiant, her skin was dazzling and I could smell wealth over her. We hugged and exchanged pleasantries 'its been four years' she said. we sat at the bar sipping a glass of wine catching up with old times but the countenance on her face wasn't the usual happy face i have known her to be.

As our conversation got deeper, i realised how she is more like the princess locked in a castle provided with everything including maids yet restricted to the outside world. Her husband gave her two option, either to dress like the hijab women or to restricted to staying at home except occasionally when they had to go out together. As a Christian woman before getting married, she felt covering up wouldn't work for her so she choose the other option.

Its four years with no child, her husband is hardly around and she feels completely empty. I was initially dumb folded,' She must have been through a lot' I thought. I told her to have a conversation with him, and make him see reasons with her, If he loves her there might a change in his mind. I also told her visiting the therapist wouldn't be a bad idea just to help restore some happiness into the home. She took to my advice. We had some more fun time together walking around her compound before I left.

I realised Life isn't balanced and nobody has it all. Even at that, we must try our best to keep our heads high and find a way to be happy despite our individual inadequacies.

Thanks for reading through.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency