Adjust the Dimmer Switch


Ideas and solutions flow from me like nobodies business, and as a result, "Eureka!" moments have morphed into this peculiar contentedness that I somehow embody subconsciously. I pay increasingly less attention to them as the days go by.

Will this light bulb continue to shine as I grow old and weary? Or will the dimmer gradually rotate anti-clockwise until the bright room in my mind fades to black?


eureka.jpg

image courtesy - Aditya Vyas



When I think of my fears and what significance they play in my life, the feeling of that spark going out is likely the greatest upset I can assimilate. It may be a different story after years of gathered wisdom and change, but the feeling is still there, which provides the necessary motivation for me in the present.

I've spoken about the motivation of fear before and how powerful it can be depending on the circumstances. It's up to the individual to harness it for their progress instead of their demise.


pobdivider.png


There is something to say about the intensity of the "Eureka!" feeling.

I wonder if we'd use the word if Archimedes didn't leap from the bath to run bollock naked through the streets of Syracuse shouting "εὕρηκα!". What if he kept his plums submerged and thought, "oh yeah, that makes sense. I wonder how much water would be left if the wife hopped in with me".

The perceived intensity makes all the difference to the word's feeling, which will differ from person to person based on their knowledge and past experiences. Flashbacks back to my post about sensuality. Is this going to be a common theme?

I'm thinking, does this mean that "Eureka!" should be reserved for genuinely groundbreaking discoveries, ideas, or solutions? What do you perceive as "Eureka!" worthy?

Eureka is comparable to the word "Fuck" from my point of view (I can't wait to do the graphic for that WOTW, by the way). It is comparable in that we can use it to express an intensity when appropriately used. The other side of the coin being the degradation of the word's weight when it's overused outside of the highly emotional context that it deserves.


pobdivider.png


I had a debatable "Eureka!" on Sunday, or at least arguable from my perspective. I'd made up my mind on whether or not to mute people from my account. A door swung open to some more in-depth thinking which helped me answer some questions I've been pondering lately.

I've never been someone who mutes accounts on the platform. My thinking was that "even if I don't want to see things, I have to because I should consider the other point of view". But, unfortunately, the notion is lost, and the scales of balance start tipping in the wrong direction when you're banging your head against a brick wall most of the time.

A lot like week ten of the WOTW, it's time again to let people figure it out for themselves. There isn't much more to say than that—power to the Proof Of Brainers with integrity.




Don't forget to write your post for this week's POB Word of the Week!


Ongoing POB Discussion Thread #001

Ongoing POB Discussion Thread #002

@scholaris is taking over this responsibility, woohoo!


POBleus: Cooperative Curation

Testing phase is underway.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency