A fantastically fun photo study of the magnificent Rocky Mountain elk in its natural wilderness habitat

1.jpeg


Hello and thank you for visiting my blog.

Today I would like to share with you a series of photos I took of a herd of Rocky Mountain elk.

Perhaps you've never seen an elk before…

Well, have you seen a deer?

If you've ever seen a deer before, then you can just picture elk as looking exactly like a deer, except a whole lot larger and much less stupid.

Or, you can just have a look at the fantastically fun photos below, which I took :)

So the other day I was out drinking white dog straight out of the bottle wandering aimlessly and more or less mostly whiskey-blind through the woods near Leadville, Colorado when I had the good fortune of stumbling across a herd of magnificent Rocky Mountain elk right out there in their natural wilderness habitat.

Thinking quickly I whipped out my big ol' camera and started clicking pics and snapping shots left and right with all the vim and vigor of a world-renowned award-winning photographer.

And so here are the photos I took.

Hope you enjoy!


2.jpeg


Normally you can't get this close to a herd of elk, but luckily I just so happened to be downwind from them.

3.jpeg


So, they couldn't catch my scent, and they didn't even know I was there!

4.jpeg


Aren't they just a magnificent sight to behold?

5.jpeg


Wow, look at the rack on that one! I bet this bull won every single one of his sparring contests during rutting season!

6.jpeg


It's no wonder these two females were chilling there so close to him ;)

7.jpeg


Pretty sure this one was a scout, because he was standing a little ways away from everyone else out on the edge of the herd, sniffing the air and glancing to and fro to get first glimpse and scent of any predators.

8.jpeg


Aww, look at the little baby elk next to its mother! I almost squealed out loud with delight and gave my position away when I caught sight of that adorably cute little guy!

9.jpeg


Well, that's all the pictures I was able to get, because all of a sudden the wind shifted and they caught my scent and bolted!
So glad I had the chance to witness these elk out there in the wild… wish you had been there to see them too!
That's all for now. Hope you enjoyed the show!

@brandt
world-renowned award-winning Rocky Mountain elk photographer


12.jpeg


※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※

⛰ 🦌 ☠️ 😵

※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※


10-4-21. Hey @otherbrandt I think I saw some trash out there, can you please come pick it up?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency