A request to look under the hood of POB

A request

I will keep tags on this post to a minimum, I am only tagging people who I think might act on this. Just to give a background, all these started due to reward disagreement on a 2nd layer token, POB, where hive witnesses have limited governance control. However, as a hive engine token it is still build on hive, so we can't sidestep our responsibility. As an investor, stakeholder on hive, it is my responsibility to investigate before I make a commitment to invest.

Mind you, anyone can start a Tribe and launch a Hive-Engine Token (a small amount of fee is required). There are 100s of hive engine tokens, but only a few with any real 'value'. If the token has no real value, it doesn't have any danger of financial loss related to a potential investor. But if it has value, then the question becomes different. Then there is a potential of financial loss.

Yesterday, another large investor on POB raised a question that remained not properly answered, for a number small investors like myself. So I like to raise it and get our team to look into it if they have any spare time.

image.png

The question from the screenshot above is simple, why the main account is preferentially voting the two accounts shown here?

Answer

In DPOS, there is no requirement to give explanation for upvote or downvote.

Also in POB, I am told the main account follow a trail by calumam, and I quote his comment below

but as far as "why" someone votes for these two POB legends, I can see the merit.

Sounds reasonable to me.

Therefore, if I paraphrase it. I like something I upvote and don't like something I downvote; there is no other content restriction in POB. So, no explanation of any kind is required.

However, as an investor we can always ask questions. If we don't get answer we can act accordingly.

Yesterday both Blocktrades and I spend quite a lot of our personal time to answer questions. We have been polite and patient to the project manager of POB proofofbrainio. However, I don't intend to spent any more time on 'explanation'.

I offered my help and support to this project. Since it is build on hive, I will have some experts to take a look at tokenomics and reward distribution. I think it will benefit all investors of POB token.

@themarkymark is an expert on hive engine tokens, a top 20 witness, knowledgable on blockchain technology, and fighting abuse longer than any one of us have done. Marky published an excellent post yesterday which throws light on some of the concerns some of us investors have on POB.

@themarkymark/the-biggest-risk-with-hive-engine-tribes-is-the-owner

I like to request Marky, if he has time of course, to kindly look into the POB token distribution, rewards and technical flaws if any.

@dalz is a data geek. If he has time, may be he can look into who gets majority of the rewards on POB, so that we can visualize it in beautiful chart, please.

@abh12345 Ash, I know you are busy, but this trail @calumam talks about that the main account of @proofofbrainio follows, is it possible to extract voting pattern from Hive SQL? No rush, of course.

I really appreciate all the help folks, because I think it is our responsibility as an investor to look under the hood of this Tribe and see if things checks out! There is no rush on this, and I am asking a favor please, if you can't manage it, I won't be offended. I just think many small investors are buying this token and it is our responsibility and bit of a community service to help them out.

Many thanks!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
63 Comments
Ecency