Make Things Simple For Everyone To Understand! 🧠

What I've noticed on Proof of Brain (and Hive) is that for official statements, words are used that aren't easy to understand if English is your second/third/fourth/fifth language. And this needs to be addressed.

Whilst I was reading @trostparadox's Announcement of My Intent to File a Future Proposal Regarding ‘Rules for Downvoting’ in the Proof-of-Brain Tribe post, I realized that for a lot of people the wording could be difficult to understand and things could get lost in translation.
(I think the proposal is a great idea and I can't wait to support it because it is very much needed!)

Analysis, Adapt & Evolve! POB Is Constantly Shapeshifting .png

We are all here from different parts of the world and accessibility is very important for this place to becoming better.

Accessibility in a way that is open for everyone to use and understand.

Using words that others are not familiar with can lead to misunderstanding, miscommunication and isn't providing a space that is accessible.

What may seem very understandable to one person, can be very confusing for another. So as a community, I think it is important to take this into consideration when writing official statements and proposals.

image.png

Perhaps we can start by defining 'bigger' words before we use them into our text.

For example :

Plagiarism

  • Using someone else's words or images as if they were your own.

That's understandable right?

I believe that small and simple changes can really benefit the community as a whole and will provide a platform that is hopefully trying to be accessible and inclusive to all.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this topic and of ways we can be accessible and inclusive.
Please tell me what ideas you have because we are in this together and there could be blind spots to this that I (or others) don't see and you do!

Over and out,

Ashley

image.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency