Thousand Reasons to be Grateful

Hello Busy Bees
I hope we all are doing well.

Today, I am going to share with you an experience that taught me how blessed I am. Normally, adults have 30 to 32 teeth but I have only 26 teeth. I don’t know why my other teeth didn’t come out. Anyways, I have only one molar tooth on each side of the lower jaw, and two molars on each side of the upper jaw. In the molar of my lower jaw, I have had a root-canal about fifteen years ago. For the last few years, I started having on and off infection and pain in that root-canalled tooth. The pain became severe over time. I went to the dentist and have had X-rays.


source

However, no reason could be figured out for the pain. The root canal was okay; its cover was fine; there wasn’t any problem in the jaw. Everything about that tooth was at its place and safe but the pain was continually there. I went to various dentists. Finally, one of them figured out the reason.

As I mentioned above, I have two molars in the upper jaw and only one in the lower jaw, the upper molar came down because of not having support from the lower jaw. It created pressure on the lower molar and so the pain arises.

O My God! A very little displacement of a tooth, perhaps a tenth of a millimeter, caused me such a great pain.

The incidence made me think how ungrateful we have been in general. We have been bestowed with literally so many blessings that we cannot even count them. We do not give us a chance to think of them as blessings. We take those things for granted unless they are snatched from us.

We get depressed at our failures. We lose hopes while facing hurdles. We show ingratitude for not having our desired objects. Have we ever tried to realize how blessed we have been with a complete body? I think if we want to be grateful, our well-structured and appropriately organized body is enough to give us the reason for this.

Gratitude has a lot to do with our well-being. It not only makes us to appreciate what we have got, but also gives us the courage to be patient for what we haven’t got yet. Above all, it keeps the hope illuminated which helps us stand with valor in the difficult times, and never let us down.

For being healthy, happy, courageous, optimistic and hopeful I have decided to be grateful; and for this, I don’t need to go very farther analysis of my losses and gains.

I am grateful to God for He has bestowed me with a body, the organs of which are rightly placed and function accurately.


source

I am grateful to God for having a well functional respiratory system.
I don’t need to spend money or need anyone else’s help to breathe. I don’t have to go anywhere for the extraction of oxygen from the air. I never had to put any effort to attain the functionality of the lungs. They take in the air and extract oxygen from it. They transfer it to the blood which nurtures every single cell of the body.

What would I do if my lungs start absorbing other gases of the air? I would die within a minute. I will not be able to do anything. My lungs are performing the function for years, several times in a minute, without stopping. Isn’t it enough to be grateful?

Whenever I eat, the lid of the respiratory tract encloses itself. I don’t have to put any effort to close it. If the function didn’t happen automatically, how difficult it would be for me to eat even a single piece of bread.

I am grateful to God for the proper digestive system.
I don’t have to use any machinery to push the food down to the stomach. The lining in the esophagus performs the function automatically without any of my efforts. I don’t have to buy chemicals for the functioning of my stomach. It not only secretes the required chemicals but also applies the apt chemical on the food elements. My intestine absorbs the nutrients to give energy to my body.

If my body didn’t perform these functions, would I be able to live in this world? If any machinery for this purpose was available, how costly it would be! How much time it would take!

I am grateful to God for the proper circulatory system.
I don’t need to use a pump to send the blood to my cells. My heart is placed at the right place and pumping at a desirable rate. It is pumping restlessly to keep my organs functioning well.

What would happen if I was dependent on a pump? Would I be able to take it with me all the time? Would I be able to manage its speed all the time?

I am grateful to God for He has given my blood an automatic system of clotting.

source

If it wouldn’t be so, a small cut on my body would result in excessive bleeding and I would have died the very day I got my first injury as a child.

I am grateful to God for He has given my skin the power of healing itself.

If it wouldn’t be so, whenever I get an injury I would have to buy new skin. From where could I do so?

I am grateful to God for He has given me the sense to feel pain. The pain tells me something is wrong in my body.


source

I go for finding the remedy for the illnesses in my body. If I couldn’t feel pain, my teeth would have rotten completely, my skin would have burnt, bacteria and viruses would have destroyed my internal functioning, and all these things would have taken my life. It is the pain that leads me to know something is going wrong and I should find some medicine for it.

I am not worried about for not having a car. I am thankful to God for He has provided me with legs and feet. I can go anywhere I want.

I am not worried about for not having an expensive watch, jewelry or other accessories. I am thankful to God for He has given me well-functioning fingers, hands, wrist, elbow and arms. I can perform my day-to-day activities without anyone else’s help.


source

I am grateful to God for He has bestowed me with innumerable blessings within my body. With these blessings, I can work for more blessings and successes.

Every one of us is blessed with countless blessings. We only need to shift our focus from hurdles to opportunities.

Thanks for reading

This is my entry for #dreemportchallenge.

Divider source
Sources to all the other images are mentioned right after them

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency