Give it some time

A Story of Growth


Screen Shot 2021-04-04 at 10.50.30 AM.png


I was reading this post by @fireguardian yesterday and a comment by @leprechaun jogged my memory. I told the story in the comments (for likely 2 people to see) but I figured this story is worthy of a post. Especially a post on Sunday, which I see as a good day for spiritual reflection.

As a young man, I felt a lot of pressure to be a lot of things: Good, successful, positive, an influencer, a change maker. The list could go on. But for a young man, in his mid 20's, there is only so much that he can do in a day. When I look back on those days through some 15 plus years of experience, I can see it a lot more clearly. I was doing all I could, but I was frustrated with the struggle.

I was at a loss on a particular day where my frustration hit a head. I wasn't seeing the results for all of the hard work that I was doing. I didn't know what I could or should be doing different. The grey clouds of that reality had gathered in my head space and I didn't know how to get them out.

My best solution to any issue involving sorting out my thoughts was usually a long walk. So that is what I did. I always enjoyed looking at the bricks, the arches, the rooflines joining together in perfect symmetry. I would watch the wind pick up leaves or trash and I could somehow see the charted course of the wind through whatever it has decided should come with it. In enjoying the views, I usually would find the burdensome thoughts that clouded my mind disappear. The crisp clean autumn air was always helpful too. It has a cleansing effect that always made a walk rewarding.

I did know that these thoughts were particularly heavy and burdensome today, and I was doing my best to lift them from my being, but it wasn't happening easily. I was stopped by a homeless man on a sidewalk near a park. We spoke for a few minutes. I cannot remember what the conversation was about at this time.

I always enjoyed conversations with the homeless, because their perspective is so different. They are free, so much more free than us in so many ways, yet shackled by so many things that we do not feel, for we chose a different set of shackles and a different set of freedoms.

I do remember leaving. We said our goodbyes and I began to walk away. I remember him yelling off to me after I took ten steps.

"Hey!"
I turned around.
"Do you see that tree?" He pointed.
I looked at the tree and replied, "Yeah."
"Picture it in ten years."

That was the exact seed of wisdom that I was missing. My young, hardworking, goal oriented self was tired of the toil and seeing no results. I lacked patience. I lacked the vision to look further than the length of my nose. I had the drive and was doing the work, but did not understand that some things, good things, the best things, take a little bit longer to happen.

The clouds lifted and I went home refreshed and renewed. I was able to get back to work and feel that there was a point to the effort, and that the reward may come far down the road. You cannot see the change that occurs in a tree overnight as it is so slight. If you have ever planted a tree and watched it grow over the years, you know that all of those little tiny pieces of growth add up. So, don't give up. Put in the work and play the long game. You are the tree.

Proof of Brain


We are embarking on a new journey in a new community with some old friends. We have a platform that has given us a blank canvas. Together we get to decide what we are building. Many people are talking about solidifying what we are building, trying to further define what Proofofbrain.io can be. It, much like each of us, is a tree. It will take time to become what it will become. Each of us simply has a small part to play in its growth. I will do what I can to water my part of the roots daily and ensure that people know that there are people who care for this ecosystem. I know that I am not the only one.

Ya, but what does this all mean?


We are all working on all sorts of things. We have goals and are all working along the path to achieving those goals. I will share a few of my goals with you to make them a bit more real.

I would love to have 1.0 BTC
I would love to have 1.0 ETH
I would love to have 10,000 Hive Power
I would love to have 2500 Leo Power
I would love to be a Proof of Brain Whale (this one is a lofty goal)
I would like to transition from full time worker to seasonal (I own my own company and currently work full time for it)
I would like to write daily

Whatever your goals are, they are going to take effort and dedication. It can get frustrating and you can feel like you are putting in a lot of effort and are seeing no results. Take comfort in knowing that some things take a lot of time, and are worth it. Stick to your vision and hold firm to your goals. If you do these things, you will get where you are going.

Crypto markets expand and contract, tokens are issued at a pre set minting rate and we have only so many hours in a day for productivity. Progress may be slow, but progress is progress. Do not forget the tree. Water, sunlight and time, lots of time are all that is required. Your goals may require more than water and sunlight, but I am sure that they do require time... likely lots of time.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency