3D Printed Vine Hook Success!

Hello Everyone,

Earlier today I posted about the trouble I was having with my printer settings. (The Blob)

I decided to start with fresh stock settings. Sometimes this is my troubleshooting method when things just keep getting worse, and in this case it worked out in my favor, to the point of getting an acceptable and very usable 3D printed vine hook for a house plant of mine called a Philodendron.


success.JPG


This was my earlier design I talked about in the blob, but I decided to take the top off. It felt a little too extreme and unnecessary to have such an overextended and large hook head, after thinking about it.


newdesign.PNG
TinkerCad



newd1.PNG
TinkerCad


I felt like this turned out to be a much better looking wall hook, and it was pretty easy, just had to put a hollow triangle above the point and merge the objects.

I didn't take any photos of the printing process because I really didn't think it was going to work out, but after it did I decided to sand it down some and use it.

Here is a post printing shot, with the hook snugged up by its abrasive buddy sand paper.


fuzzy.JPG


It almost has a fuzzy look to it after sand papering, and I'm really digging it actually.
I decided not to go too crazy with the sand paper, because it's up high on the wall and doesn't have to be pristine for me. It just has to work and look better than the previous solution, which I'll show later what that looked like.


zoom2.JPG


In this photo it's hard to really see the print, but I mostly just want a photo of the entire printer in here so people can get an idea of what produced this vine hook.
I'm very fortunate and grateful to have such a nice machine like this, it opens up endless possibilities, and helps me save money by printing things of practical use.

I hope to do something amazing for humanity with 3D printing in the future, but I'm not sure what it's going to be yet, In the mean time I am just applying myself to learning and getting better.

In this next photo, you will see what I meant by replacing the previous vine hook solution.


Inkedsuccess3_LI2323.jpg

I was holding this heavy plant up by screws and cringing every time I looked at it. I don't think the screws were doing any harm to the plant, but they were doing harm to my mental health with the idea that they could be doing harm to the plants. (not too much harm, joking a little there.)
Also the screws are just ugly looking and are what we call a "ghetto" solution here.
Well my hooks are certainly not ghetto now..

Here is a super zoom up with flash on.

zoomfina.JPG

You can see I just used a little hot glue that will peel right off the wall, seems I missed some strings hanging from the bottom, that hot glue sure can be elusive :P

Alrighty folks, I suppose that will do it for today.
Now I am going to go back to fine tuning and hopefully not screw things up with the printer again. I'm definitely over extruding again but the strange thing is when I reduce flow it doesn't get rid of the over extrusion effects. It's strange but I will get to the bottom of it.

Thank you everyone for all the really nice support and engagement, I'm having a great time posting on the Hive blockchain and can't wait to share more!

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day! ~~@print3dpro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency