Valley of the Emerald Beauty - The Soča Valley in Slovenia

The Soča Valley - Valley of the Emerald Beauty in Slovenia

The Soča Valley
Valley of the Emerald Beauty in Slovenia

In the past years I have made quite a few posts about my visits to the Soča Valley in Slovenia, our beautiful neighbour country in the south. Two weeks ago I have been there once more, and once more I have taken a few photos.

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

Some of the images might be a little dark, not because I was photographing too early in the morning, but it was still to early for the sun to have found some of the places I have been.

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

The Soča River is also called the Emerald River or Emerald Beauty because of its green colour.
The river sources in the Julian Alps in the Trenta Valley, flows through Slovenia and Italy and enters the Adriatic Sea near the town of Monfalcone, Italy. In Italy the Soča is called Isonzo.

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

The source of the Soča (I have already made a post of it a while ago) is at an altitude of 876 metres (2,874 ft) and can be reached after a not very long and nice path along the River upwards a mountain. Before you reach the crystal clear source you have to do some climbing work down a rockface. The river is 138 kilometers (86 mi) long.

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

Apart from the crystal clear water I love the colour of the river which shines in shades of blue and green, emerald green. I have read somewhere that short-wave radiation is scattered on smallest lime particles what results in the color blue. The green parts, on the other hand, result from microscopic river creatures, the green algae. I don't know if that's true, but it sounds reasonable.

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

I also love the shapes and the colors of the rocks in and along the river, and mostly the ones that shine golden in the right light.

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view
The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

Mlinarica Waterfall

Mlinarica Waterfall - The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view
Mlinarica Waterfall - The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

A river called Mlinarica flows not far away from the Soča source into the Soča. While the gorge through which the Mlinarica flows is not accessible, you can admire the Mlinarica Waterfall just a few hundred meters before the river's meeting with the Soča.

Mlinarica Waterfall - The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view
Mlinarica Waterfall - The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

It's only a small road through the Soča Valley, but especially in the Summertime it's a road you have to drive carefully because motorbike riders love the windy mountain road and tourists from flatter countries in the north have sometimes problems in the narrow curves, so they sometimes drive more on the other side of the road, where you are coming towards them, if you know what I mean.

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

A light mist still laid on the river where the sun had not yet reached it.

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

During the warmer months many people and families visit the Soča Valley to spend their days at the river. Finding a parking space along the road to have a look around or take photos is not easy in these months, and the traffic is immense and sometimes dangerous, as already said above.

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view

Well, that was the end of my post and I am glad that you have scrolled down till here, because the last photo is my favourite of all the photos in this post: It was a bit windy that morning, but I was so happy when I saw that the little flowers on the rock were quite sharp and not blurry :)

The Soča Valley - The Soča River
Click for fullsize view


Information

Soča - Wikipedia
Soča Valley Website

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM, Sigma 100-400mm f/5-6,3 DG OS HSM C.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
take care, stay safe and healthy,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to have one of my photos in full resolution.

> Have a look at my NFT's on the Foundation Plattform
> My Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! or here <<<


2021-08-30
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.402548 lat 13.743403 long 20210830-Soca d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
200 Comments
Ecency