I love hurricanes, NOT!

image.png

Hurricanes are unforgiving...

So I'm doing some last-minute online stuff, this post being one of them, before my electricity and internet is knocked offline for the next week or more, because of hurricane Laura.

I've lived in the Gulf Coast Area of Texas for most of my life, and I've been through several floods and hurricanes, so this hurricane is just adding to the list. But as each new hurricane approaches, I ask myself, “is this the one that really damages our property and possibly our lives?”

12 years ago, Hurricane Ike ripped through Southeast Texas and threw half a oak tree through my friend’s house and into one of the bedrooms. It was a sight to see. Luckily, the family was in their living room and no one was hurt. And Hurricane Harvey a few years ago almost flooded our house, the water was lapping one meter from our door.

I have watched them create tornadoes, throw pinecones through my window, and seep water through my door because of the extreme wind and rain. And I have also seen a highway turn into an ocean, in a day. Needless to say, hurricanes are unforgiving.

Preparing...

The only thing you can really do is prepare; have a lot of ice in your refrigerator when the electricity goes off, water in the bathtub just in case the sewage system floods, AM/FM radio; preserved food, bottled water and clothes just in case you have to evacuate, and an inflatable raft if the flood waters are too high.

It's obvious that I don't look forward to hurricane season, but yet I still live in a place where there are hurricanes. So maybe, I don't mind them that much, if I did, I would move. Anyway, I hope Laura won't beat us up too bad.

Stay frosty people. Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency