Treasures of today - tomorrow's delicacy

The morning mist and cold were followed by bright sunshine, and the forest attracted me irresistibly. I really didn’t have a serious goal, I just wanted to enjoy the sunlight. I warmed up on the way up the mountain so that I thought it better to take off my long-sleeved T-shirt and even my jacket, and continued my journey in a sleeveless leotard, even though it was only 10 degrees. I note that it has happened many times before I walked like this in minus degrees without getting any disease. As an experienced hiker, I always put a lockable plastic container in my backpack in which I can pick berries, and also a canvas bag for herbs or mushrooms.
I knew there would be plenty of hawthorn, and maybe I would find a few blackthorns, but I didn’t hope there would be parasol mushrooms either.
This fragrant and delicious mushroom grows in the fall.

20211015_135410.jpg

I managed to take a dozen and I was very happy with that too. I used to dry and flavor soups with it. Baked in the oven with a little oil and spice is also very good. Tender, young mushrooms can be filled with spicy rice, cheese and eggs. I haven’t tried the latter yet, but I might do it once.
20211015_172545.jpg

20211015_172458.jpg

It is very easy to dry parasols, provided you didn’t take it in rainy-wet weather. I once took wet mushrooms home and that all rotted instead of drying.
This is how a perfectly dry mushroom looks, light in color, easy to break and has a pleasant aroma. I even have last year’s dried mushrooms, so I’ll be using them all soon.

20211015_173013.jpg


In the spring, blackthorn flowers froze in many places, so I barely found any berries. Luckily, I was able to pick nice, big fruits in some sheltered places. It will be jam, but I don’t use it on its own, I mix it with ripe and very sweet plums. So, this way, I don't have to put sugar in it.

20211015_172731.jpg


There are plenty of hawthorn despite the fact that the spring frost has also decimated its flowers. Only beautiful, healthy and large berries are worth picking. Sometimes it’s wormy, and I only notice that at home when I clean it.
I recently heard that it is worth putting it in the freezer before processing so that the jam made from it will not be bitter. I’ve already processed the hawthorn I’ve picked before, the jam has gotten a little bitter, but I still like it.
I will make hawthorn jam with red wine, red grapes and ground spices (cinnamon, cloves, cardamom seeds, ginger) - or rather chutney from it.
It is not a negligible fact that hawthorn has a good effect on the heart and vascular system.

20211015_172857.jpg

New jams are coming soon! In a small series, I make them just for my own use, sometimes as a gift. What’s amazing is that no two series are alike, the flavors are always changing.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency