Hi, I'm Ender Louis [ENG/ESP]

Portada-Hive-Intro.jpg

Patience is a virtue practice makes perfect and if you execute something with good technique, perseverance and genuine effort, progress is inevitable. I begin this introduction with 3 phrases that I read/heard at some point and that I feel are one of the keys to achieve my goals.

La paciencia es una virtud, la práctica hace al maestro y si ejecutas algo con buena técnica, constancia y esfuerzo genuino el progreso es inevitable. Comienzo esta introducción con 3 frases que leí/escuché en algún momento y que siento que son una de las claves para alcanzar mis metas.


From-it-guy-to-photographer.png

De informático a fotógrafo

Hi! I'm Ender Louis, a 29 year old photographer, editor and retoucher, and 5 years ago I made a decision that completely changed the course and rhythm of my life: I left college, the "stable job" and computers to dedicate myself seriously to photography.

I spent my childhood and adolescence in love with computers. Since I was a child I loved to install programs, check the hardware and spend most of my time in front of a PC. Editing programs caught my attention, so I started to edit a little bit of everything.

Hola! Soy Ender Louis, un fotógrafo, editor y retoucher de 29 años, y hace 5 años tomé una decisión que cambió completamente el rumbo y ritmo de mi vida: dejé la universidad, el “trabajo estable” y la informática para dedicarme seriamente a la fotografía.

Pasé mi infancia y adolescencia enamorado de las computadoras. Desde niño me gustaba mucho instalar programas, revisar los equipos y pasar la mayor parte de mi tiempo frente a una PC. Me llamaron la atención los programas de edición, así que comencé a editar de todo un poco.

I started photography somewhere between the ages of 12 and 13 with my mom's digital camera, a 2MP Olympus, but I saw it as a hobby and nothing more. I was raised with the mentality of "you can't make a living from art" and that led me to focus on studying a "career that makes money". Tragic, don't you think?

My love for photos slowly grew because, despite loving my career, my brain became overwhelmed and I started to feel unmotivated if I didn't take photos every so often. All of this was fueled when I met the love of my life, and it was she who helped me see the truth: I liked computers, but I was PASSIONATE about photography.

Comencé con la fotografía en algún punto entre mis 12 y 13 años con una cámara digital de mi mamá, una Olympus de 2MP, pero lo veía como un hobby y nada más. Me criaron con la mentalidad de “no puedes vivir del arte” y eso me llevó a centrarme en estudiar una “carrera que dé dinero”. Trágico, ¿no te parece?

Mi amor por las fotos fue poco a poco creciendo porque, a pesar de querer mi carrera, mi cerebro se angustiaba y me comenzaba a sentir desmotivado si no hacía fotos cada cierto tiempo. Todo esto fue impulsado cuando conocí al amor de mi vida, y fue ella quién me ayudó a ver la verdad: me gustaba la informática, pero me APASIONABA la fotografía.


The-support.png

El apoyo que todos merecemos recibir

Niobe came into my life to change everything. We met when we were 19 years old and it was a typical love at first sight story. Almost 10 years later and here we are, happier than ever. You may already know her around here, as she's been in the community for a while with her stories and illustrations, but beyond her love, her support was a key aspect in my development as an artist.

Niobe llegó a mi vida para cambiarlo todo. Nos conocimos a los 19 años y fue la típica historia de amor a primera vista. Casi 10 años después y aquí seguimos, más felices que nunca. Ustedes deben conocerla ya por aquí, ya que lleva un tiempo en la comunidad con sus cuentos e ilustraciones, pero más allá de su amor, su apoyo fue un aspecto clave en mi desarrollo como artista.

Together-1.pngJuntos desde el 21 de Octubre del 2011

Together we bought a digital point and shoot camera, a Canon sx260 HS, and my desire to take pictures of her and the places we visited together made me practice A LOT, and little by little I improved my photography skills.

I was still in college and working at the company I interned at, so my photo time was reduced to just weekends. This eventually started to frustrate me because I wanted to take more and more photos. At that point everything changed.

Niobe encouraged me to pursue photography full time. She saw a talent in me that she supported at all times and wanted to see me happy doing what I was passionate about, so on Christmas 2015 she gave me a Canon EOS Rebel T3, my little Aurora, which is still with me today.

Juntos compramos una cámara digital point and shoot, una Canon sx260 HS, y mis ganas de hacer fotos de ella y de los sitios que visitamos juntos hizo que practicara MUCHO, y poco a poco fui mejorando mis habilidades con la fotografía.

Yo seguía en la universidad y estaba trabajando en la empresa en la que hice pasantías, así que mi tiempo de fotos se reducía a solo los fines de semana. Esto eventualmente me comenzó a frustrar porque yo quería hacer más y más fotos. En ese momento todo cambió.

Niobe me alentó a perseguir la fotografía a tiempo completo. Vio un talento en mí que apoyó en todo momento y quería verme feliz haciendo lo que me apasionaba, así que en la navidad del 2015 me regaló una Canon EOS Rebel T3, mi pequeña Aurora, que aún hoy me acompaña.

Aurora2.png La llamé Aurora en honor a mi cantante favorita, Aurora Aksnes



Why-am-I-in-hive.png

¿Por qué estoy en Hive?

I really like to question myself, challenge myself and try new things whenever I can, and I have some time on the path of self-improvement. I like to teach, I like to show what I do, give advice and help other people. I like all that, but I'm not good with written words!

Oh, in the past I have found myself up to 1 hour thinking of a caption to go with the photo I will upload to my social media. "Words are not my strong suit" was something I repeated to myself a lot throughout my life. "I'm very visual" is something I say, and it's not a lie, but now it's not a limiter either.

I'm at Hive because I'm going to combine everything I said in the previous 2 paragraphs: show what I do, give advice, help, and prove to myself that I'm quite capable with written words, just as I feel I am with speaking.

Me gusta mucho cuestionarme, retarme y probar cosas nuevas cada vez que puedo, y tengo cierto tiempo en el camino del self-improvement. Me gusta enseñar, me gusta mostrar lo que hago, dar consejos y ayudar a las demás personas. Me gusta todo eso, ¡pero no soy bueno con las palabras escritas!

Oh, en el pasado me he encontrado hasta 1 hora pensando en un caption que acompañe la foto que subiré a mis redes sociales. “Las palabras no son mi fuerte” fue algo que me repetí mucho tiempo a lo largo de mi vida. “Soy muy visual” es algo que digo, y no es una mentira, pero ahora tampoco es un limitante.

Estoy en Hive porque voy a combinar todo esto que dije en los 2 párrafos anteriores: enseñar lo que hago, dar consejos, ayudar y demostrarme que soy bastante capaz con las palabras escritas, así como siento que lo soy al hablar.


What-will-you-find-in-my-profile.png

¿Qué vas a encontrar en mi perfil?

Although I know that Hive is a place where I can express myself freely on almost any topic, I am a person who likes to be focused on little. As Bruce Lee said, "I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times."

A pesar de que sé que Hive es un lugar en el que me puedo expresar libremente en casi cualquier tema, soy una persona a la que le gusta estar enfocada en poco. Como dijo Bruce Lee, “No temo al hombre que ha practicado 10.000 patadas una vez, temo al hombre que ha practicado una patada 10.000 veces”.


Photography.png

Fotografía

I am a photographer focused on portraits and fine art. My life revolves around photography and I like it, and that will be reflected in my account. I estimate that between 70-80% of my posts will be focused on photography, in different formats: Showing final sets/photos, editing processes, photography from scratch, preparation, tips, advice, a little bit of everything and with a touch of teaching and entertainment.

Soy fotógrafo enfocado en los retratos y el fine art. Mi vida gira en torno a la fotografía y me gusta, y eso se verá reflejado en mi cuenta. Calculo que entre un 70-80% de mis posts estarán enfocados en la fotografía, en diferentes formatos: Enseñar sets/fotografías finales, procesos de edición, fotografía desde cero, preparación, tips, consejos, de todo un poco y con un toque de enseñanza y entretenimiento.

Collage-1-2.png

One of the things that catches my attention is to create "photography from scratch" style posts, in which I plan to write and show the whole creative process, from the original idea, references, behind the camera, raw photography, editing and final result. It will be fun to create that for Hive.

Una de las cosas que me llama la atención es crear posts estilo “fotografía desde cero”, en los que pienso escribir y enseñar todo el proceso creativo, desde la idea original, referencias, detrás de cámara, fotografía raw, edición y resultado final. Será divertido crear eso para Hive.

Collage-2-2.png


Self-improvement.png

Superación personal

When I'm not talking about photography, I'll be talking about self-improvement, and this includes: creating and maintaining good habits, tips for better living, eating right, exercising, how to organize your time, how to focus on learning something, and many more.

Cuando no esté hablando de fotografía, hablaré de superación personal, y esto incluye: crear y mantener buenos hábitos, consejos para vivir mejor, comer bien, hacer ejercicios, cómo organizar su tiempo, cómo enfocarse en aprender algo y muchas cosas más.

Organización.png

This was a process that took me a long time to execute successfully, because self-improvement is a path of trial and error, but I managed to put it into action the day I learned something that has been very useful to me: in order to improve yourself you must know yourself. Only by knowing who you are can you be who you want to be.

Este fue un proceso que me llevó mucho tiempo ejecutar exitosamente, porque la superación personal es un camino de ensayo y error, pero que logré poner en marcha el día en el que aprendí algo que me ha servido mucho: para poder mejorarte debes conocerte. Sólo sabiendo quién eres puedes ser quien quieres.

Separador-Hive.png


Thanks-for-reading.png

¡Gracias por leerme!

Thank you so much for taking a few minutes of your time to read my little story. I'm really looking forward to getting started and will probably be able to create 1 or 2 posts a week. In the next few days I will make a portrait of my sister and document the whole process, don't miss it.

Best regards!

Muchísimas gracias por dedicar unos minutos de su tiempo a leer mi pequeña historia. Tengo muchas ganas de comenzar y probablemente pueda crear 1 o 2 posts semanales. En los próximos días le haré un retrato a mi hermana y documentaré todo el proceso, no se lo pierdan.

Un saludo!

Separador-Hive.png

You can always choose to be kind!

Hi, I'm Ender Louis, professional photographer since 2016, editor with high skills in Lightroom and Photoshop, high-end retoucher and curious by nature. Music fanatic, passionate about what I do and with the vision to be a better version of me every day. Co-creator of Figuras Anónimas and Aquelarre Photography, working every day to get closer to my goals and achieve my objectives. I hope I can teach you something and learn something from you, so feel free to comment. Learning is a permanent process.

Footer.jpg

Separador-Hive.png

All photos taken by me. All models are over 18 years old.
All collages/headers were edited in Adobe Photoshop.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency