A New Spot At Loch Raven and A Little Surprise Greeting!

This was another unexpected stop after my husband and I dropped our son off at a friends house. Of course, it is a mostly familiar spot but it is on our way back home and so I'm always happy to make a quick stop and have a look around! However, this time (like a time or two before) we decided to venture down some trails that we hadn't been on yet. There are quite a few trails around Loch Raven but some of these are just too difficult for me now but I will go as far as I can until I get to a spot that is too difficult for me. I'm getting better at recognizing that some parts of the trails are just too much for me due to some health reasons. Mind you, I'm pretty good at descending some of those steep inclines but it's the getting back up that poses a bit more of a problem for me.

We've seen this trail many times. It is right by the water but it always seemed a little overgrown. This time was no different but we ventured forward anyway and am I so glad that we did! There were spots that we had to duck down or walk sideways but it was totally worth it and it didn't have any areas that were difficult. Better yet, it offered even more water views and I even found some impressive rocks and boulders which is what I'll be sharing with you today. There were several areas both in and out of the water but I will only be sharing one spot in particular with you today. Gotta' save some for later you know! 😉

This is the spot by the water that I'll be showing some of those rocks and boulders at and we even had a little surprise visitor show up but you'll have to stay to the end of my post to see who and, don't worry, I'll try to keep this a short post!

bouldersunday5-30-2021-1ok.jpg

I found some terrific rock and boulder formations along this trail but the main formation that I'm showing today is this one right by the water. It not only caught my attention because it is a nice big specimen but I found the small hole in it to be interesting.

bouldersunday5-30-2021-2ok.jpg

Not only did I notice the little hole but it also looks like the letter "A" and a frog are carved into the rock! Maybe you see it but it's okay if you don't and I'm sure it was just Mother Nature that carved those markings or perceived markings out in the rock!

bouldersunday5-30-2021-3ok.jpg

At this point I turned around to get a photo of some very nice large rocks on the trail.

bouldersunday5-30-2021-4ok.jpg

The main rock in the photo looks like a nice sitting rock. It looks like an ancient rock from the times of Giants. I mean, just look at those butt prints left in it! Lol ... sorry, I just couldn't help myself but (come on) you have to see it?! And now, you can't un-see it! You're welcome! 😂

bouldersunday5-30-2021-5ok.jpg

I also tried to get a photo to show some of the rocks and boulders under the water right in front of the big rock with the hole in it.

bouldersunday5-30-2021-6ok.jpg

I decided to try to get a closer look at that hole in the rock before moving on when I noticed we had this little visitor show up!

bouldersunday5-30-2021-7ok.jpg

bouldersunday5-30-2021-8ok.jpg

Let me zoom in a little in case you can't see him (or her)! He just flew in and landed right where I was taking the photo!

bouldersunday5-30-2021-9ok.jpg

I think the little Cicada just wanted to stop by and say hello! It even looks like he is smiling for the camera so I felt obliged to take his photo and pass it along to you!

bouldersunday5-30-2021-10ok.jpg

Oh! ... and about that greeting! I felt obliged to help him out there too!

bouldersunday5-30-2021-11ok.gif

bouldersunday5-30-2021-12ok.gif

Now, I bet you're glad that I decided to venture along that slightly overgrown trail as well! With that, I'll leave you with these last two edits that I did as well! I mean, I think that little visitor would want me to! 😁

bouldersunday5-30-2021-13ok.gif

bouldersunday5-30-2021-14ok.gif

Thank you @shasta for #bouldersunday!!
Thank you @c0ff33a for #sublimesunday!!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency