Ascent to the Cotopaxi volcano / Ascenso al volcán Cotopaxi.

Although I had high expectations of visiting the Cotopaxi Volcano since I started planning my trip to Ecuador, I confess that it was full of incredible surprises.

DSC03083.JPG

The first was a privileged view from the plane, arriving in the city of Quito, I could see the volcano cleared and bathed in the reddish tones of the sunset.

DSC03005.JPG

DSC03073.JPG

The second, that in the visit that I imagined, I never thought to get so high and with a relatively low difficulty to the Jose Felix Ribas refuge, by the way, a Venezuelan hero, located at 4800 meters high. So far it is still the highest site I have ever been to.

DSC03013.JPG

DSC03014.JPG

We took advantage of the good weather that day and I was able to take a short walk around the refuge where I could appreciate more closely the spectacular nature of the volcano's glaciers already touching 5000 meters in height!

DSC03017.JPG

DSC03058.JPG

In the refuge it is possible to rest and warm up with hot chocolate and coca tea, highly recommended to pass the paramo disease in the high places of the extensive Andean mountains, fortunately the euphoria that I felt when being in such a beautiful place kept me away from that uncomfortable regret.

DSC03052.JPG

DSC03072.JPG

DSC03053.JPG

Being among volcanic rock, once lava and now covered in snow from this majestic volcano was a truly magical experience.

DSC03037.JPG

DSC03094.JPG

PD: all this pictures and writing are from my authorship


ESPAÑOL

Ascenso al volcán Cotopaxi.

Si bien tenía muchas expectativas de visitar el Volcán Cotopaxi desde que empecé a planificar mi viaje a Ecuador, confieso que estuvo lleno de increíbles sorpresas.

La primera fue una vista privilegiada desde el avión, llegando a la ciudad de Quito, pude ver el volcán despejado y bañado por los tonos rojizos del atardecer.

La segunda, que en la visita que me imaginaba, nunca pensé llegar tan alto y con una dificultad relativamente baja al refugio Jose Felix Ribas, por cierto, un prócer venezolano, ubicado a 4800 metros de altura. Hasta ahora sigue siendo el sitio más alto en el que he estado.

Aprovechamos el buen clima que hizo ese día y pude dar un paseo corto alrededor del refugio donde pude apreciar más de cerca la espectacularidad de los glaciares del volcán ya rozando los 5000 metros de altura!.

En el refugio es posible descansar y calentarse con chocolate caliente y té de coca, altamente recomendada para pasar el mal de páramo en los altos parajes de la extensa serranía andina, afortunadamente la euforia que sentí al estar en un lugar tan hermoso me alejo de ese incómodo pesar.

Estar entre roca volcánica, alguna vez fue lava y ahora está cubierto de nieve de este majestuoso volcán fue una experiencia verdaderamente mágica.

PD: Todas las fotos y escritos son de mi autoría

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency